NCAA: All-Star break is well-deserved rest for LPU’s Perez, Ayaay

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 30, 2018 01:40 PM
NCAA: All-Star break is deserved rest for LPU’s Perez, Ayaay
CJ Perez will not be playing in the Season 94 All-Star Game to get well-deserved rest

Main man CJ Perez and team captain MJ Ayaay will not be representing Lyceum of the Philippines University in the NCAA 94 All-Star Game.

Instead, Marcelino twins Jaycee and Jayvee as well as Toci Tansingco will be flying the Pirates’ flag for Team Heroes in the midseason classic scheduled for Friday at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

Of course, head coach Topex Robinson will also be calling the shots for the side that will also have Ian Alban, Michael Canete, and Levi Dela Cruz of Arellano University; Juju Bautista, Jeric Diego, and Jerome Garcia of Emilio Aguinaldo College; Aaron Bordon, RJ David, and Jed Mendoza of Jose Rizal University; and Warren Bonifacio, Cedric Pelayo, and Laurenz Victoria of Mapua University.

Still, the fact is that two of the top players in the league will not be seeing action in the All-Star Game.

And the reason is very much valid. “We will be resting them,” coach Topex said, explaining their decision.

He then continued, “CJ and MJ have been working extra hard all year long and they deserve to have a break.”

Indeed, both Perez and Ayaay – and much of LPU, in fact – have been playing non-stop since January.

From the Philippine Collegiate Champions League to the PBA D-League Aspirants Cup and from the Filoil Preseason to now in the NCAA, rest has been hard to come by for the Pirates, especially their graduating players.

Now, they are taking advantage of the chance to do so.

That doesn’t mean, though, that Team Heroes will just roll over even without Perez and Ayaay.

With coach Topex calling the shots, expect them to give Team Saints all they can handle.

Bolick and San Beda University teammates Javee Mocon and Radge Tongco will join forces with JP Calvo, Christian Fajarito, and Bong Quinto of archrival Colegio de San Juan de Letran to power Team Saints.

Flanking the archrivals will be College of St. Benilde’s Josh Barnes, JJ Domingo, and Luigi Velasco; San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ Allyn Bulanadi, Michael Calisaan, and Alvin Capobres; and University of Perpetual Help’s Edgar Charcos, AJ Coronel, and Prince Eze.

Of course, the NCAA 94 All-Star Game will be LIVE and EXCLUSIVE on S+A, S+A HD, and livestream.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News