NCAA: Rome Dela Rosa comes home to help San Beda top Shooting Stars

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 31, 2018 03:36 PM
NCAA: Rome comes home to help San Beda top Shooting Stars
Rome Dela Rosa stepped up once more to help San Beda to victory

San Beda University left no doubt in coming out on top in the NCAA 94 All-Star Shooting Stars.

This, even though there wasn’t any certainty to their team right before the event itself on Friday at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

All’s well that ends well, though, as Rome Dela Rosa stepped up once more for the Red Lions as they got the better of Mapua University in the Finals.

San Beda was initially intended to be represented by Juniors guard Penny Estacio, Seniors forward Calvin Oftana, and alumnus Jake Pascual.

Unfortunately, Pascual was unable to make it due to undisclosed reasons.

Fortunately, Dela Rosa was in the venue and wasted no time answering the call. “Hindi ko alam ‘to e. Sakto lang, nandito yung brother ko so I joined,” he shared.

Rome’s younger brother Ry will be participating in the Three-Point Shootout in the midseason classic.

The older Dela Rosa, however, also found himself in the middle of the action, all of a sudden.

Like he always has, he stepped up and made good on the halfcourt heave that logged a time of 25.0 in the preliminary round.

In the Finals opposite Cardinals Clint Escamis (Juniors), Exi Biteng (Seniors), and Yong Garcia (alumnus), San Beda still left no doubt with Calvin Oftana then hitting the halfcourt heave for a time of 23.0.

Oftana said that the presence of Dela Rosa, a four-time champion, was more than enough inspiration. “Siyempre, excited kami na last-minute replacement siya. Ang laking honor para sa amin,” he said.

The Red Lions topped the field that includes the likes of Gerald Dizon, Jielo Razon, and Yukihiro Kawamura of University of Perpetual Help; Jio Jalalon, Kraniel Villoria, and Marlon Espiritu of Arellano University; Rey Nambatac, Christian Fajarito, and Stacey Tibayan of Colegio de San Juan de Letran;

Jeff Quiamco, Michael Are, and Milo Janao of San Sebastian College-Recoletos; Bong Melocoton, Sean Neri, and Cjay Boado of Emilio Aguinaldo College; Kevin Lacap, Carl Lumbao, and John Barba of Lyceum of the Philippines University; RJ Deles, Carlo Young, and Sebastian Locsin of College of St. Benilde; and Philip Paniamogan, Agem Miranda and John Amores of Jose Rizal University.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News