JRU takes flight in NCAA just as Amores does so too in NBTC 24

ABS-CBN Sports on Sep 17, 2018 03:07 PM
JRU takes flight in NCAA just as Amores does in NBTC 24
JRU star John Amores has completed his rise by claiming the top spot in the NBTC NCAA 24 for the first time

John Amores of the JRU Light Bombers has been hailed the top high school player in Week 10 the Chooks-to-Go /NBTC 24 NCAA edition.

The 6-foot-2 swingman is having a heck of Juniors campaign and his exploits have not gone unnoticed.

Last Thursday, his herculean effort of 13 points and 19 rebounds paved the way for a 74-73 victory over title-contenders Mapua .

That victory finished off an elimination round upset for JRU over the title conteder Red Robins.

Amores, who is on his second and final year with the Light Bombers, is having a breakout season.

Last year, he had modest averages of 3.6 points and 3.5 rebounds in just 13.4 minutes of play. Now in, Season 94, he amped up his game and has become one of the reasons why JRU is in a position to enter the Final Four as he is currently fourth in scoring with 18.8 points per outing.

After being a constant fixture in NBTC 24’s top 20, including going as high as number two twice, Amores has finally earned the coveted number one ranking.

Following Amores are three LSGH Greenies after the defending champions downed the San Sebastian Staglets, 76-65, last Tuesday.

Inand Fornilos’ double-double of 24 points and 17 rebounds earned him the second spot while Joshua David came in at third following his 19-point, 9-rebound, 7-assist output. Joel Cagulangan is at fourth as he chipped in with eight points, three rebounds, and six assists in the win.

Mapua’s Clint Escamis, who ruled the rankings for the past three weeks, settled for the fifth spot after their upset loss.

Here are the complete Week 10 rankings:
1. John Amores (JRU) (6)
2. Inand Fornilos (CSB) (3)
3. Joshua David (CSB) (10)
4. Joel Cagulangan (CSB) (2)
5. Clint Escamis (MU) (1)
6. John Delos Santos (JRU) (9)
7. John Barba (LPU) (8)
8. Dan Arches (MU) (7)
9. Aaron Fermin (AU) (11)
10. Kean Baclaan (SSCR) (15)
11. Mac Guadana (LPU) (12)
12. Jonnel Policarpio (MU) (4)
13. Milo Janao (SSCR) (19)
14. Rom Junsay (AU) (13)
15. RC Calimag (CSB) (5)
16. Ezdel Galoy (UPHSD) (18)
17. Thomas Vasquez (JRU) (N/A)
18. Paolo Hernandez (MU) (N/A)
19. JR Ilustrisimo (EAC) 14)
20. Marwin Dionisio (JRU) (N/A)
21. Penny Estacio (SBU) (N/A)
22. Marj de Leon (LPU) (N/A)
23. Andrei Romenez (CSJL) (N/A)
24. Winderlich Coyoca (SBU) (N/A)

This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News