NCAA Season 94: Judgement day for Lady Chiefs, Lady Altas

Mark Escarlote on Feb 12, 2019 08:03 AM
NCAA Season 94: Judgement day for Lady Chiefs, Lady Altas
Only the hungrier and more determined team will capture the NCAA Season 94 women's volleyball crown.

Defending two-time champion Arellano University and University of Perpetual Help go for all the marbles in the winner-take-all Game 3 of the NCAA Season 94 women’s volleyball Finals Tuesday at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

The decider of the best-of-three series is on tap at 3:30 p.m. and will air live on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166, LIGA SkyCable Channel 86, LIGA HD SkyCable Channel 183, iWant and via livestream.

It will be a battle of dynasty against destiny with the Lady Chiefs eyeing a grand slam while the Lady Altas are hoping to end a five-year title drought.

But both teams agree that the hungrier, more determined side will emerge as champions.

“Kung sino na lang ang may malaking puso, kung sino na lang ang magpapakamatay sa bola on Tuesday, makikita naman natin sa game, yun ang bibiyayaan ng championship,” said Lady Altas mentor Macky Carino, who is looking to duplicate his miracle championship run with College of St. Benilde in Season 91. “Pero sana kami yun siyempre.”

Perpetual, which went through four do-or-die games to advance to the Finals, drew first blood two weeks ago in a shocking 21-25, 25-17, 25-21, 25-20, win.   

Arellano U spoiled the Las Pinas-based squad’s attempt to complete Perpetual’s triple crown haul last Friday by surviving a five-setter, 23-25, 25-9, 25-18, 22-25, 15-12, and force a series decider. 

“Itutuloy lang namin ang ginawa namin plus lagi ko lang ire-remind sa mga bata ‘yung plano namin talaga this season and ‘yung plano namin na makuha namin ang pangatlo para sa school. Lagi kong sinasabi sa kanila na ‘wag sana mawala ang pinaghirapan,” said Lady Chiefs mentor Obet Javier, who eyes to deliver Arellano U’s fourth title in the last five seasons.

Graduating hitter Cindy Imbo, Bianca Tripoli, Jhona Rosal, Hannah Suico and setter Necelle Gual will lead the charge for Perpetual, which is hoping to sweep all the divisions of the sport after capturing the men’s and juniors titles, while Arellano U will pin its hopes on reigning Most Valuable Player Necole Ebuen, Princess Bello, Regine Arocha and Carla Donato.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles


Latest News