NCAA Season 94: Arellano U completes Cheerleading grand slam

Mark Escarlote on Mar 28, 2019 05:49 PM
NCAA Season 94: Arellano U completes Cheerleading grand slam
Arellano University completed a grand slam in the NCAA Season 94 Cheerleading Competition at the MOA Arena.

Arellano University solidified its dynasty as the Chiefs Squad captured their third straight crown Thursday in the NCAA Season 94 Cheerleading Competition at the Mall of Asia Arena.

Showcasing their incredible moves to a mash-up of 90’s dance beats spiked with amazing stunts and eye-popping pyramids to highlight their routine, Arellano’s cheerleading crew remained on the throne with an overall score of 229.5.

Despite some miscues on their pyramids, the Chiefs Squad managed to stave off their bitter rival University of Perpetual Help Perps Squad, who had some mistakes of their own in their routine.

Although may minor errors kami pero siyempre as a coach nakita ko pa rin naman ang heart of a campion team. Kung papaano ila pinerform kanina and ginawa nila ang best nila kaya kami nakapag-champion pa rin," said head coach Lucky San Juan, who steered the Chiefs Squad to their fourth title overall.

"Isa ito sa mga dream namin eh. And ito ang reward ng mga bata lalo na sa mga graduating students namin," added San Juan, whose squad pocketed a hefty P100,000 cash prize.

Arellano U dedicated a whole year to prepare for the competition, which turned out to be one of the toughest for the Chiefs Squad with teams like Perpetual, Mapua and Letran, composed mostly of many-time national champion Central College of the Philippines, beefing up their respective squads to give the Legarda-based crew a run for their money.

"Sa amin po siyempre marami pong changes and marami sa aming bago, nagkaproblema kami sa routines namin pero hindi kami sumuko and then nakita namin ang puso sa loob na magpe-perform kami as a family," said outgoing team captain Ernelyn Saga, a graduating Education student.             

The Perps Squad, who won nine titles overall, finished second with 222.5 points while Mapua Cheerping Cardinals (211.5) bagged the bronze.

At fourth were the Letran Lakas Arriba (207) followed by College of St. Benilde Pep Squad (203), San Beda U Red Corps (189), Jose Rizal University Pep Squad (178.5) and Emilio Aguinaldo College Pep Squad (170.5).

San Sebastian College and Lyceum of the Philippines University skipped the competition.   



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fomtheriles

Latest News