Guadana announces arrival as no. 1 player in first NBTC 24 in NCAA 95

ABS-CBN Sports on Jul 22, 2019 08:08 PM
Guadana announces arrival as no. 1 player in first NBTC 24
Mac Guadana is just one of three LPU players in the top five of the inaugural Phenom/NBTC NCAA 24

Lyceum came to the season with heightened expectations - and there's really no other man who will be at the center of the fight than Mac Guadana.

To nobody's surprise, the 18-year-old playmaker was the driving force for the Junior Pirates' early ascent to the top of the standings, going unbeaten through their three games this NCAA Season 95.

And thus, Guadana was hailed as the top player in the inaugural Phenom/NBTC NCAA 24 high school basketball rankings.

Guadana averaged 17.5 points, 8.0 rebounds, and 3.0 assists in Lyceum's first two victories of the season as it drubbed Letran and then EAC.

He willingly took a step back with John Barba back in the fold as the Junior Pirates clipped defending champion Mapua to rise to a 3-0 slate.

Gilas Youth member Rhayyan Amsali of San Beda snared second place as he was made an immediate impact for the Red Cubs despite missing their season opener.

Lyceum's Jae Omandac is at third, followed by Perpetual's Emman Galman, and Barba completed the troika of Jr. Pirates in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 are JRU's Gholam Garcia, Letran's Joshua Ramirez, JRU's Condrad Famaranco, San Beda's Justine Sanchez, and LSGH's Juan Quiambao.

Here are the complete list for the first rankings of the Phenom/NBTC NCAA 24:
1. Mac Guadana (LPU)
2. Rhayyan Amsali (SBU)
3. Jae Omandac (LPU)
4. Emman Galman (UPHSD)
5. John Barba (LPU)
6. Gholam Garcia (JRU)
7. Joshua Ramirez (CSJL)
8. Condrad Famaranco (JRU)
9. Justine Sanchez (SBU)
10. Jiam Quiambao (LSGH)
11. Edzel Galoy (UPHSD)
12. Yukien Andrada (SBU)
13. Charles Delfino (SBU)
14. Shawn Orgo (UPHSD)
15. RC Calimag (LSGH)
16. Milo Janao (SSCR)
17. Kyle Cuevas (UPHSD)
18. Troy Valencia (SBU)
19. Dave Balo (SSCR)
20. CJ Saure (CSJL)
21. Chris Recto (AU)
22. Shawn Argente (CSJL)
23. JR Ilustrisimo (EAC-ICA)
24. Dan Parinas (MU)

This year, there will be four separate editions of the NBTC 24 - one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, one for the CESAFI, and one for all the other venues where the most promising prospects in the country also get to showcase their skills.

After all four editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

Latest News