NCAA Season 95: Lady Chiefs begin four-peat bid

Mark Escarlote on Jan 09, 2020 05:07 PM
NCAA Season 95: Lady Chiefs begin four-peat bid
Regine Arocha will be spearhead the defending three-time champion Arellano University's drive to extend its reign in the NCAA Season 95 women's volleyball competition. (Josh Albelda)

Arellano University fields a solid and intact core as the Lady Chiefs begin their four-peat bid on Friday in a clash with Lyceum of the Philippines University in the NCAA Season 95 women’s volleyball competition at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Winners of four titles in the last five years, the Lady Chiefs’ campaign to extend their dynasty gets underway at 12 noon and will air via iWant.   

Arellano U’s vital cogs in their previous conquests will be back, led by reigning Most Valuable Player Necole Ebuen and two-time Finals MVP Regine Arocha. Also making their return are Princess Bello, Carla Donato, Mikaela Juanich and setter Sarah Verutiao, who will pilot the Lady Chiefs’ offense after the departure of veteran playmaker Rhea Ramirez.

The Lady Pirates, on the other hand lost two key players after Cherilyn Sindayen and Bien Juanillo exhausted their playing eligibility, and will bank heavily on holdovers Monica Sevilla, Mikaela Wanta and Alexandra Rafael.

Meanwhile, last year’s runner-up University of Perpetual Help plunges into action at 2:00 p.m. in a clash with pre-season favorite College of St. Benilde.

The Lady Altas saw the departure of scoring leader Cindy Imbo and setter Necelle Gual after Season 94’s championship stint. But the Macky Carino-mentored squad remains formidable with holdovers Jhona Rosal, Shyra Umandal and Bianca Tripoli.

The Lady Blazers are out to prove their pre-season billing true with a good mix of veterans and young guns led by Klarisa Abriam, Marites Pablo, Michelle Gamit and setter Jewel Lai. Rising stars Mycah Go and Gayle Pascual, who displayed great potential in CSB’s stint in the PVL last year, are also expected to add depth to the Lady Blazers, who won the crown four years ago.

The opening ceremony is set at 11:00 a.m.

Arellano U and LPU will clash in the men’s division at 9:30 a.m. while grandslam-seeking Perpetual opens its campaign in an early Finals rematch with CSB at 3:30 p.m.

In the juniors division, LPU and Arellano U meet in the curtain-raiser at 8:00 a.m. while five-time defending champion Perpetual collides with CSB-La Salle Greenhills at 5:00 p.m.     



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News