Martin Nguyen nominated thrice, ONE Championship well-represented in World MMA Awards

Santino Honasan on May 17, 2018 04:38 PM
ONE Championship well-represented in World MMA Awards
Two-division ONE World Champion Martin Nguyen's banner 2017 makes him a three-time nominee in the 10th World MMA Awards in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Reigning ONE Championship Featherweight and Lightweight World Champion Martin ‘The Situ-Asian’ Nguyen has been nominated in three categories, with ONE Championship being well-represented in the upcoming 10th Fighters Only World MMA Awards, to be held at the Palms Casino and Resort in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The Vietnamese-Australian Nguyen has been nominated for Breakthrough Fighter of the Year, alongside the likes of UFC contenders Brian Ortega, Francis Ngannou, Darren Till and Volkan Oezdemir, as well as International Fighter of the Year, alongside fellow Australian and current UFC Middleweight World Champion Robert Whitaker.

2017 was definitely a banner year for the 29-year old Nguyen, who captured two world titles in a span of four months, knocking out champions Marat Gafurov and Eduard Folayang in consecutive fights.

Speaking of knocking out Gafurov, Nguyen’s stunning win over the former long-time ONE Featherweight World Champion was also nominated for Upset of the Year.

Reigning ONE Atomweight World Champion Angela Lee is also a nominee, going up against the likes of UFC champions Cris ‘Cyborg’ Justino and Rose Namajunas for Female Fighter of the Year.

Lee also had a stellar 2017 of her own, defending her ONE Atomweight world title twice in impressive performances against Jenny Huang and Istela Nunes. The Hawaii-based American-Singaporean fighter was also set for a third world title defense against Mei Yamaguchi in late 2017, but a car accident kept her out of action for a bit.

ONE Championship CEO and chairman Chatri Sityodtong has also been nominated for MMA Leading Man, alongside the likes of UFC President Dana White and Bellator President Scott Coker, while ONE Championship has been nominated for Best Promotion.

Since its inception in 2011, ONE Championship has grown to become Asia’s premier martial arts promotion, and Sityodtong has steered the company towards worldwide success in just seven years.

Aung La N Sang and Vitaly Bigdash’s five-round war for the ONE Middleweight World Championship was also among the choices for Fight of the Year, joining other barnburners such as Eddie Alvarez versus Justin Gathje, and Eddie Alvarez versus Dustin Porier.

Finally, ONE Championship play-by-play commentator Michael Schiavello was nominated for Personality of the Year, alongside the likes of Daniel Cormier, Chael Sonnen, Jon Anik, and Joe Rogan.

To cast your vote, head on over to

Latest News