Team Lakay's Lito Adiwang earns ONE Championship contract

ABS-CBN Sports on Aug 08, 2019 02:36 PM
Team Lakay's Lito Adiwang earns ONE Championship contract
Team Lakay's Lito Adiwang joins the ONE Championship roster after another impressive performance at ONE Warrior Series 7 in Singapore

The already-stacked roster of ONE Championship athletes just added another up-and-coming Filipino talent in the form of Team Lakay's Lito "Thunder Kid" Adiwang. 

The 25-year old Adiwang (9-2) earned his spot on the main ONE roster after dismantling American Anthony "The Antidote" Do en route to a unanimous decision win in the main event of the seventh installment of ONE Vice President Rich Franklin's ONE Warrior Series show in Singapore last August 6th. 

It was Adiwang's third win on the ONE Warrior Series stage since being discovered by Franklin at the ONE Warrior Series tryouts back in 2018.

Adiwang stopped Jose Huerta via first round TKO in his OWS debut. 

He followed that up with a 45-second destruction of Alber Correia back in February. 

"Lito, the 10th ONE Championship contract winner, has had the toughest matchups since he joined ONE Warrior Series, and never disappointed with his performances. If you are in ONE Championship's strawweight division, take note of this guy because he’s coming to shake things up!” said Franklin. 

“Lito always put on the most exciting performances every time he stepped into the ONE Warrior Series ring. In fact, he's even won a Warrior Bonus in every appearance, which is a testament to his abilities. With Lito moving on to ONE Championship, no doubt the already stacked strawweight division will take notice of his power and explosiveness. Look for him to make an immediate impact as soon as he gets the call," added ONE Warrior Series director Jonathan Fong. 

Adiwang comes from the same famed Filipino mixed martial arts stable that has produced ONE world champions such as Eduard Folayang, Honorio Banario, Kevin Belingon, Geje Eustaquio, and Joshua Pacio, was well as stars such as Danny Kingad, Edward Kelly, and Gina Iniong. He now joins his Team Lakay stablemates on the biggest martial arts promotion in the world. 

Other Pinoys picking up wins at ONE Warrior Series 7 were Ismael Bandiwan, Dave Bangguigui, and Allan Albindo. 

Adiwang follows in the footsteps of Mark Abelardo and Rockie Bactol as other Pinoys who have earned ONE contracts through the ONE Warrior Series platform. To date, the most notable ONE Warrior Series winner has been Thailand's Stamp Fairtex, who has gone on to capture world titles in Muay Thai and Kickboxing via the ONE Super Series stage. 

Latest News