PBA: Black does not care if your feelings get hurt over the quotient rule

Paul Lintag on May 04, 2018 10:00 PM
PBA: Black does not care if your feelings get hurt
"I mean, the rules are we play with a quotient and if I remember correctly, one team got eliminated last conference when they didn't have a higher quotient. We'll just play by the rules, if the rules say that you have to win via quotient at the event of a tie, then we'll try to score as much as we can," --- Norman Black.

Meralco's Norman Black is one of the most straightforward head coaches in the PBA today, perhaps even ever.

He pretty much doesn't care about his opponent's feelings on the basketball court.

So when his Bolts once again got involved in a rather heated incident centered around the PBA's quotient system, Black says his team is only doing what it has to do in order to advance in the 2018 PBA Commissioner's Cup.

No hard feelings, please.

"There's a little bit of commotion on the last shot but I don't really know what they want us to do about that," Black said.

The shot in question was Newsome's final make with less than two seconds to go that sealed the final tally of Meralco's 106-90 win over NLEX Friday night.

Coach Yeng Guiao didn't appreciate the gesture and after shaking hands with Black mid-court, the fiery Road Warriors coach went after Newsome.

Guiao was caught on camera shouting expletives at Newsome.

Black though, sees nothing wrong with what his star forward did.

"I mean, the rules are we play with a quotient and if I remember correctly, one team got eliminated last conference when they didn't have a higher quotient. We'll just play by the rules, if the rules say that you have to win via quotient at the event of a tie, then we'll try to score as much as we can," he added.

This is not the first Black has dealt with this issue and it seems like he'll react the same way until the PBA changes its playoff method.

"If they take that rule out, we'll respect the game and not try to score at the end game. Me as a coach, I'm not naive. I know that normally, if the game is over, the game is over," he said.

"You don't want to put it in the coach's face or the other team's face, but until the PBA changes the rules or something else, and until they continue this rule which is the quotient rule, then we'll follow the rules," Black added.

 


---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News