PBA: Gilas takes on on All-Stars for second straight year

Paul Lintag on May 04, 2018 07:21 PM
PBA: Gilas takes on on All-Stars for second straight year
Gilas Pilipinas will be in full force in the 2018 PBA All-Star Games.

The current PBA All-Star Games format has allowed the Philippine National team to see action in the annual extravaganza.

And much like last year, Gilas Pilipinas is not messing around in 2018.

A Gilas squad composed of June Mar Fajardo, Jayson Castro, Terrence Romeo, Japeth Aguilar, Troy Rosario, Calvin Abueva, Carl Bryan Cruz, Gabe Norwood, Allein Maliksi, Matthew Wright, RR Pogoy, and Kiefer Ravena will see action first on May 23 at Digos City, taking on the Mindanao All-Stars.

Coach by Tim Cone, the Mindanao team will feature Scottie Thompson, Mark Barroca, Jio Jalalon, PJ Simon, and Mac Belo, Baser Amer, Cyrus Baguio, Sonny Thoss, Raffy Reavis, JP Erram, RR Garcia, and Carlo Lastimosa.

For the main leg on May 25 at Batangas City, Gilas will have a 10-man team composed of Fajardo, Cruz, Rosario, Belo, Pogoy, Maliksi, Romeo, Norwood, Jalalon, and Ravena.

The opponents are the Luzon All-Stars made up of Japeth Aguilar, Calvin Abueva, LA Tenorio, Paul Lee, and Jayson Castro have been voted as starters.

Joining the team coached by San Miguel's Leo Austria are Stanley Pringle, Matthew Wright, Marcio Lassiter, Alex Cabagnot, Arwind Santos, Ian Sangalang, and Raymond Almazan.

Finally on May 27 at Iloilo City, the Visayas All-Stars with June Mar Fajardo, James Yap, Kiefer Ravena, Greg Slaughter, Terrence Romeo, JR Quinahan, Jeff Chan, Chris Ross, Joe Devance, Emman Monfort, Asi Taulava, Jericho Cruz, and coached by Chito Victolero will challenge Gilas.

The Philippine team will be made up of Japeth Aguilar, Troy Rosario, Carl Bryan Cruz, Mac Belo, Gabe Norwood, Matthew Wright, Allein Maliksi, RR Pogoy, Jio Jalalon, Calvin Abueva, Jayson Castro.

Last year, Gilas Pilipinas recorded two wins and one draw in the All-Star Games. The draw came against the Mindanao All-Stars.

Head coach Chot Reyes will handle Gilas Pilipinas in all three legs.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News