PBA: Newsome downplays incident with Guiao over quotient rule

Paul Lintag on May 04, 2018 10:31 PM
PBA: Newsome downplays incident with Guiao over quotients
With the Bolts already secured of the victory with a 104-90 lead, Newsome connected one last basket to make it 106-90 with about two seconds left.

In a heated ending to an otherwise pedestrian game, Meralco forward Chris Newsome was the subject of NLEX head coach Yeng Guiao's ire for the former's final, meaningless basket with less than two seconds to go.

With the Bolts already secured of the victory with a 104-90 lead, Newsome connected one last basket to make it 106-90 with about two seconds left.

It was obviously an insurance basket if and when Meralco deals with the quotient system later on in the 2018 PBA Commissioner's Cup.

However, Guiao did not appreciate the gesture and was caught on video shouting profanities at the former Rookie of the Year.

Meralco head coach Norman Black already defended his star forward and Newsome simply brushed the incident off.

[Related: PBA: Black does not care if your feelings get hurt over the quotient rule]

"I don't really know what happened, I'm just playing basketball and I'm just following orders from my head coach. That's all I can say about about that one," Newsome said.

Pressed for more comments, Newsome added that he's not entirely surprised of Guiao's outburst.

He also added that if Guiao has a problem, he can take it to his head coach. To the PBA Commissioner even.

"I know he does that a lot and he does it pretty often. I've seen him geting confrontations with a couple other players and honestly for me, the best thing is just not react to it, move on," Newsome said.

"If he has a problem I guess he could take it up to the head coach, to coach Norman. He can take it up to the Commissioner. As far as I know it's the quotient rule and like I said I'm just following orders," he added.

 


---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News