PBA Finals: Ross goes off on Jones: “Mentally, he’s a baby”
Paul Lintag on Aug 09, 2019 11:09 PM
In Game 3 of the 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup Finals Friday, things got intense early as Jones gave Ross an actual headbutt in the first quarter. (Photo by Richard Esguerra)
The extra stuff between TNT’s Terrence Jones and the San Miguel Beermen, specifically Chris Ross, continues.
In Game 3 of the 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup Finals Friday, things got intense early as Jones gave Ross an actual headbutt in the first quarter.
The incident earned Jones a flagrant foul penalty one and Ross was actually called for a tecnical foul for taunting.
“Mentally, he’s a baby,” Ross said of Jones.
“I was going straight and then he came and headbutted me. I thought that was more than an F1. They called what they called but he’s mentally a baby,” he added.
Ross argues that he never should have been called for a tech, saying he didn’t say anything to Jones.
But replays showed that Ross was definitely talking near Jones as the two walked off the play during a dead ball.
“I got a tech for no reason, I didn’t turn and talk to him or anything. The give me a tech for nothing,” Ross said.
“They [referees] said they thought I said something to him [Jones]. You can’t give a tech for you thinking something. That was their explanation to me. I think that’s BS,” Ross added.
Jones and TNT eventually got the last laugh in Game 3, erasing an early 17-point deficit to take a 2-1 series lead in the Finals.
The TNT import dropped 37 points, 18 rebounds, nine assists, and five blocks. After a sensational Game 2, Ross was limited to just five points in Game 3.
Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8