PBA: Board Chairman Ricky Vargas is Executive of the Year

Paul Kennedy Lintag on Apr 21, 2020 11:56 AM
PBA: Board Chair Ricky Vargas is Executive of the Year
(Photo by Arvin Lim)

The leadership of PBA Board Chairman Ricky Vargas will be recognized once again.

Chairman Vargas will be honored with the Danny Floro Executive of the Year award as unanimously voted by the PBA Press Corps.

It will be Vargas' second Executive of the Year award after also winning it at the end of the 2006-2007 season.

After a rift couple of seasons back, Vargas' strong will and impeccable leadership helped right the ship for the PBA Board, resulting in a relatively peaceful time since.

The proof of the respect earned and stability brought by Vargas is the fact that he's been elected as Chairman for three consecutive terms now.

Chairman Vargas, representing the TNT KaTropa, is the first to accomplish such feat since Luis "Moro" Lorenzo Sr. in the early 1990s.

SMC sports director Alfrancis Chua was the last man to receive the award in 2018. Previous winners include San Miguel's Ramon S. Ang, Alaska's Wilfred Uytengsu, Rain or Shine co-owners Raymund Yu and Terry Que, and Manny Pangilinan himself of the MVP Group.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8 

Latest News