Blue Eagles clinch first semifinals berth

Mark Escarlote on Sep 16, 2017 12:55 PM
Blue Eagles clinch first semifinals berth
Marck Espejo of Ateneo de Manila University smashes an attack over the two-man block of University of the Philippines.

Gian Carlo Glorioso and Marck Espejo led the way as unbeaten Ateneo de Manila University clinched a semifinals seat Saturday after a quick work of University of the Philippines, 25-18, 25-18, 25-18, in the men’s division of the inaugural Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

The Blue Eagles needed only 68 minutes to submit the Fighting Maroons for their fifth straight win in as many outings, a firm grip of the solo lead and most importantly a spot in the best-of-three semis.

Glorioso scored 13 points while Espejo finished with 12 markers for the three-time UAAP champion Katipunan-based squad, which still has De La Salle University and National University in its list of assignments.

UAAP Season 79 rookie of the year Chumason Njigha and Ishmael Rivera combined for 17 markers while Ish Polvorosa dished out 27 excellent sets for Ateneo.

UP dropped to 1-3 slate and second straight defeat. 

Wendel Miguel had seven points while Gian San Pascual had six for the Maroons, who failed to capitalize on the Blue Eagles’ 26 errors.

Meanwhile, Cris Dumago starred in DLSU’s 25-16, 23-25, 25-16, 32-30 win over San Beda College.

Dumago scattered 21 spikes in a 23-point outing while adding 22 excellent receptions and eight digs for the Green Spikers. Raymark Woo scored 19 points while Arjay Onia had 16 as the Taft-based squad improved to 3-2 slate.

The Red Spikers slid to 1-3 card tied with UP despite the 16-point effort of Earl Gonzales.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles


Latest News