Espejo reunites with former Ateneo teammates in PVL All-Star

Espejo reunites with former Ateneo teammates in PVL All-Star
Catch Ateneo de Manila University's Big Three reunion in the PVL All-Star Sunday 2017 at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Four-time UAAP Most Valuable Player Marck Espejo and top setter Ish Polvorosa reunite with former Ateneo de Manila University teammates Rex Intal and Ysay Marasigan in the Premier Volleyball League All-Star Sunday on October 29 at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Fans will once again see the four stars, who helped the Blue Eagles win three-straight UAAP titles, share the court and banner the Blue Team in the league’s end of season special event organized by Sports Vision for the benefit of Hero Foundation.

Espejo and Polvorosa recently led Ateneo to claiming the PVL’s inaugural Collegiate Conference crown while Intal and Marasigan bannered Cignal’s conquest of the Reinforced and Open conferences.

Champion coach Oliver Almadro, who scored a historic grand slam by steering Cignal and Ateneo to the throne in each of the three conferences, will handle the Blue Team, which will face the Yellow Team of coach Rhovyl Verayo in the 3:30 p.m. exhibition match.

Also playing for Blue Team are Cignal’s Mark Alfafara, Lorenzo Capate and Peter Torres, Philippine Army’s Jayvee Sumagaysay and Timothy Tajanlangit, National U’s James Natividad and Instituto Estetico Manila’s Rence Melgar.

The Yellow Team is composed of Philippine Air Force’s Edwin Tolentino, Fauzi Ismail, Ranran Abdilla, Kim Malabunga and Rodolfo Labrador, Benjaylo Labide of Army, Vince Mangulabnan and Sandy Montero of Cignal, Francis Saura of Megabuilders and Sta. Elena’s Rico Ramirez and Berlin Paglinawan.

Event starts at 1:30 p.m. with an autograph signing and photo ops with the volleyball stars for ringside and lower box ticket holders.

Action in the women’s side is slated at 6:00 p.m. and will air live on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166 and via livestream.   

Replay of the women’s match is on Oc. 31 at 6:00 p.m. while playback of the men’s game will be on Oct. 30 at 4:00 p.m. with replay on Nov. 2 at 6:00 p.m.

Pocari Sweat’s Myla Pablo and Creamline setter Jia Morado lead the White Team coached by Rico De Guzman. Joining them are Isa Molde of University of the Philippines, Pocari Sweat’s Jeannette Panaga, Elaine Kasilag, Gyzelle Sy and libero Melissa Gohing, Pau Soriano of Creamline, BanKo-Perlas’ Nicole Tiamzon and Suzanne Roces, Ateneo’s Bea De Leon and Joy Cases of Philippine Air Force.

The Roger Gorayeb-mentored Team Red is composed of Balipure’s Grethcel Soltones, Jerrili Malabana, Risa Sato, Jasmine Nabor, Aiko Urdas and Alyssa Eroa with Creamline’s Cesca Racraquin, UP’s Diana Carlos and BanKo-Perlas’ Kathy Bersola, Jem Ferrer and Amy Ahomiro.

Tickets are available at the venue. Advance selling schedule is on Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and on Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News