Ahomiro joins Team Roger in PVL All-Star

Mark Escarlote on Oct 28, 2017 02:39 PM
Ahomiro joins Team Roger in PVL All-Star
BanKo-Perlas' Amy Ahomiro gets a chance to play under former Ateneo de Manila University mentor Roger Gorayeb.

BanKo-Perlas middle Amy Ahomiro reunites with former college coach Roger Gorayeb for the 2017 PVL All-Star Sunday on October 29 at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

The former Ateneo de Manila University standout is a late replacement for the Red Team that will be handled by Gorayeb in the league’s post-season special event set to raise funds for the benefit of Hero Foundation.

Amohiro will fill in the spot left by Philippine Air Force’s Iari Yongco in the exhibition match set to start at 6:00 p.m.

The women's exhibition match will air live on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166 and via livestream.

The New Zealand native played for Gorayeb in her first couple of years in Ateneo De Manila University, honing her into one of UAAP’s most dangerous middles, before the multi-titled mentor was replaced by Tai Bundit in 2013. 

Now back on the same team, Ahomiro will be one of Open Conference champion BaliPure coach Gorayeb’s main weapon against the White Team handled by Rico De Guzman of the Reinforce Conference titlist Pocari Sweat.

Aside from Ahomiro, Alyssa Eroa will replace Water Defenders teammate Lizlee Ann Pantone as libero of Gorayeb’s team. Jaja Santiago of Collegiate Conference champion National University withdrew from participating in the event.

Gorayeb will also bank on Creamline’s Cesca Racraquin, BaliPure’s Grethcel Soltones, Jerrili Malabanan, Risa Sato, Jasmine Nabor, and Aiko Urdas, BanKo-Perlas’ Kathy Bersola and Jem Ferrer and Diana Carlos of UP.

Top setter Jia Morado and Pau Soriano of the Cool Smashers banner the team of De Guzman with Pocari Sweat stars Myla Pablo, Gyzelle Sy, Jeanette Panaga, Elaine Kasilag and Mel Gohing, Banko-Perlas’ Nicole Tiamzon, who replaced injured Adamson player Jema Galanza, and Suzanne Roces, Joy Cases of Air Force, Isa Molde of University of the Philippines and Bea De Leon of Ateneo.

Aside from the All-Star game, there will be a meet and greet event starting at 1:00 p.m. before the men’s match at 3:30 p.m.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News