PVL kicks off new season with All-Star Game

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 02, 2019 01:03 AM
PVL kicks off new season with All-Star Game
The Premier Volleyball League will kick off its third season with the traditional All-Star Game on Saturday.

The Premier Volleyball League kicks off its third season Saturday with the traditional All-Star Game featuring the very best and some of the rising stars from the country’s premier league at the Filoil Flying V Center in San Juan.

Alyssa Valdez, long considered as the face of the sport and the reigning Open Conference MVP, and fellow power hitter Myla Pablo, also a former league MVP, head the two teams facing off in the league’s special offering aimed at giving back to the fans who have supported the league through the years.

The 4:00 p.m. match, which will air live on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166, LIGA SkyCable Channel 86, LIGA HD SkyCable Channel 187, iWant and via livestream, is also staged to generate funds for the benefit of the Hero Foundation.

“This is our gift to the fans who have been supporting us as well as to raise funds for charity,” according to Ricky Palou, president of the organizing Sports Vision Management Group, Inc.

A series of activities will precede the All-Star Game, including autograph signing and photo ops at 1 p.m. to be followed by the fans’ skills game featuring dig relay, dig, set and shoot, rocket fire and service shootout.

Joining Valdez’s squad are Deanna Wong, Maddie Madayag and Dani Ravena of Ateneo de Manila University; Chie Saet and Jessey De Leon of PetroGazz; Creamline’s Michele Gumabao, Mel Gohing and Risa Sato; BanKo’s Nicole Tiamzon and Kathy Bersola, Grazielle Bombita of Iriga-Navy and Isa Molde of University of the Philippines. PetroGazz head coach Jerry Yee will handle the team with former Creamline mentor Tai Bundit as his assistant.

Backing up Pablo are Creamline’s Jia Morado and Jema Galanza; Jem Ferrer and Joy Dacoron of BanKo; Ateneo’s Kat Tolentino, Vanessa Gandler and Bea De Leon; Jonah Sabete and Cherry Nunag of PetroGazz; Tacloban’s Dimdim Pacres; Dell Palomata of Pocari Sweat-Air Force; and Thang Ponce of Adamson-Akari.

Ateneo head coach Oliver Almadro will call the shots for the team with Jasper Jimenez of Pocari Sweat-Air Force as his assistant.      

Latest News