ON THIS DAY: PVL opens inaugural tournament

Mark Escarlote on Apr 30, 2020 03:31 PM
ON THIS DAY: PVL opens inaugural tournament
(Photo: Arvin Lim)

The Premier Volleyball League celebrates its third anniversary on Thursday.

On this day, the commercial league opened its inaugural Reinforced Conference.

Powerhouse Pocari Sweat, BaliPure, Power Smashers, Philippine Air Force, Perlas and new team Creamline were the six teams which participated in the first tournament of the league, which replaced the defunct V-League.

The opening day on April 30, 2017 was a triple-bill playdate which pitted Air Force against BaliPure, Pocari Sweat took on the Power Smashers while Perlas faced Creamline.

The Water Defenders bested the Lady Jet Spikers, 21-25, 25-19, 25-19, 25-21, with Grethcel Soltones coming up with 16 points while Risa Sato and Jerrili Malabanan added 12 markers each.

[Related story: BaliPure grounds Air Force]

In the second game, the Power Smashers scored an upset after sweeping past the Lady Warriors, 25-9, 25-22, 25-21, with Regine Arocha leading the way with 12 points.

Jovelyn Prado and Dimdim Pacres added 11 and 10 markers, respectively for the Power Smashers.

[Related story: Power Smashers stun loaded Pocari Sweat]

In the main game, the Perlas Spikers stunned the crowd-favorite and Alyssa Valdez-led Cool Smashers, 23-25, 25-22, 25-19, 25-21.

[Related story: Perlas takes down Alyssa Valdez-led Creamline]

Amy Ahomiro led Perlas with 17 points while Dzi Gervacio dropped 13 points behind 12 attacks including a facial against former Ateneo teammate Valdez.

Valdez finished with 25 points in her first tournament back in the Philippines after her stint with 3BB Nakornnont in the Thailand League.

Foreign imports were barred playing in the opening day after delays in their International Transfer Certificates.

Pocari Sweat would eventually win the title against BaliPure in the Finals while Creamline finished third.

Latest News