SEAG council announces initial 30 sports to be played in 2019 meet

Mark Escarlote on May 17, 2018 05:18 PM
SEAG council announces initial 30 sports in 2019 meet
After a two-day meeting, the Southeast Asian Federation council announced the initial 30 sports to be played in the 30th edition of the biennial met that will be hosted by the Philippines next year.

A total of 30 sports has been initially approved by the Southeast Asian Games Federation for the country’s hosting of the 30th edition of the biennial meet in 2019.     

Philippine Olympic Committee president Ricky Vargas announced in a press briefing Thursday the initial list of preferred sports for the regional sports spectacle set on November 20 to December 10 next year.

Here's the list of the approved sports after the two-day SEA Games Federation meeting:

Aside from the initial 30 sports list, there will be at least 12 other sports from 22 Category 3 sports to be included in the meet depending on the council’s decision.

Included in the Category 3 list are arnis, body buiding, bridge, E-sports, darts, fin swimming, floorball, jiujitsu, kurash (wrestling)  lawn ball, netball, obstacle course, polo, sambo, skateboarding, shuttlecock, shorinji (kempo), surfing, water skiing, vovinam, sports rock climbing and aero sports.

Competitions will be held in three major hubs with the under construction New Clark City as the main venue with games also to be held in Subic for the majority of water sports and in Metro Manila, where crowd-drawing sports basketball and volleyball will be held.

“The main hub of the 30th SEA Games will be in Clark New Sports City, this is the main hub of the games. Before it was Manila, but now since we are building a new athletics stadium and aquatics, Clark will be main hub,” said SEA Games Organizing Committee executive director Ramon ‘Tats’ Suzara. “Secondary hub will be in Subic, Metro Manila will be third hub.”

The official one-year countdown will begin on Nov. 30 while the official mascot, slogan and logo will be unveiled on July.

The opening ceremony will be held tentatively  at the Philippine Arena in Bulacan.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News