SEA Games: Pinay spikers to play in five-nation women's volleyball competition

Mark Escarlote on Oct 15, 2019 02:07 PM
Pinays to play in five-nation women's volleyball competition
The Philippine women’s volleyball team will play in a single round-robin elimination round with Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore and Vietnam.

The Philippine women’s volleyball team will have to win as many games it can in the elimination round to vie for a gold medal in the 30th Southeast Asian Games next month.

In an unexpected turn of events, only five teams confirmed its participation led by 11-time defending champion Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and Singapore in the women’s division of the competition that will run from Nov. 28 to December 10 at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City.

A Malaysian representative informed Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. secretary general Ariel Paredes, who oversaw the sports’ draw procedure on Tuesday at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Hotel, that they won’t join the competition in both men’s and women’s. The development cancelled the women’s draw procedure with all the teams now playing in a single round-robin format.  

“If there are five or fewer participating teams the competition shall be conducted in a single group round robin format,” said Paredes. “The teams ranked 1st and 2nd will play for the gold medal, teams ranked 3rd and 4th will play for bronze medal. This regulation applies now to women's volleyball.”

The Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia played in two legs of the ASEAN Grand Prix in a preview of the SEA Games with the Filipinas winning bronze in the Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand and Sta. Rosa, Laguna legs.

The host team is looking to win a podium finish since pocketing the bronze in the 2005 edition held in Bacolod. The Philippines’ last gold medal finish was back in 1993 in Singapore.

Meanwhile, the Philippines chose Pool B in the men’s competition with Indonesia, Vietnam and Cambodia.

National team head coach Dante Alinsurin got the privilege of choosing which bracket to join after the draw as the host team.

Clustered in Pool A were defending champion Thailand, Myanmar, Singapore and Timor Leste.

In other draw results, the Philippines opens its men’s badminton team campaign against 2017 SEA Games silver medalist Malaysia while the women’s squad will face the Singaporeans, who are the bronze medal winners two years ago.

The men’s and women’s underwater hockey will only have four participating countries in Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines and Indonesia. It will also use a single round-round robin format with the top two duking it out for the gold medal while the third and fourth ranked teams will face off for bronze.

In water polo, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and Thailand will play in a single round-robin format to determine the podium matches while in the distaff side, the Philippines, Thailand and Singapore will battle for the gold after the round-robin elims.         



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles      

Latest News