Soriano-Micek tandem leads BVR on Tour national title race

Soriano-Micek tandem leads BVR on Tour national title race
All is set for the culmination of the Beach Volleyball Republic on Tour National Championship.

The veteran duo of former Ateneo de Manila University star Charo Soriano and Fil-American Alex Micek are looking to cap off their successful campaign in the Beach Volleyball Republic (BVR) on Tour by capturing the National Championship title this weekend at the Sands SM by the Bay.

Winning four of the seven legs of “BVR on Tour” the tandem is the team to beat in the 16-team field competing in the culminating event of the tournament on May 26 and 27.

However, Soriano played down their tag as title favorites.

“Siguro po sana (kami ang team to beat). Napakaganda in po ng feeling kasi when we talk to other players, they make you an inspiration. Parang sa kanila po gusto po nila na matalo po nila kami and for me that’s the best thing that you can really have,” said the 30-year-old Soriano Tuesday during the press conference of the event at Lola Café in Quezon City.

The power duo, who won legs in San Juan in La Union, Anguib in Cagayan, Bayawan in Negros Oriental and the Boracay edition, are in Pool A as top seeds with Jennifer Cosas and Floremej Rodriguez, twins Nieza Viray and Jeziela Viray of San Beda and the international tandem of Tatiana Sablan of Hawaii and Ivee Ilao of Guam.

Former University of Sto. Tomas star Judy Ann Caballejo and Anna Abanto are in Bracket B with Dhannylane Demontano and Jackielyn Estoquia of Iloilo, Polytechnic University of the Philippines’ Rhea Fermilan and Javen Sabas and Cebuanas’ Therese Ramas and Janelle Cabahug. In Pool C are the tandems of Jonafer San Pedro and Jessa Aranda of RTU, Lakawon Island, Negros Occidental winners Bea Tan and Fiola Cebballos, Cherilyn Sindayen and Rainne Fabay of Lyceum and Lourdilyn Catubag and University of the Mindanao-PNP’s Karen Quilario.

Pool D is composed of former Lady Eagle Dzi Gervacio and Michelle Morente, Apple Saraum and Jusabelle Brillo of Cebu, University of the Philippines’ Isa Molde and Diana Carlos and the 78th UAAP runner up Far Eastern University pair of Bernadeth Pons and Kyla Atienza.        

Teams in each bracket will face off in a round robin format where the top two squads will advance in the crossover quarterfinals. The no. 1 and 2 teams of Pool A will face the top two of Pool D while the top two of Pool B will take on the top two of Pool C to determine the squads that will meet in the semifinals.  

The champion pair will receive P100,000 while the runner up squad will take home P70,000. The third place team gets P40,000 and the fourth placer will bag P20,000.       

The thrilling action of the scorching beach volleyball matches will air on ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23 and ABS-CBN Sports+Action HD Channel 166 on May 27 from 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and onm May 28 from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. For recaps and highlights of the BVR visit and follow ABS-CBN Sports’ official Facebook and Twitter accounts, @abscbnsports.                       




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles 

Latest News