Braves capture first junior lawn tennis crown

ABS-CBN Sports on Dec 14, 2016 03:25 PM
Braves capture first juniors lawn tennis crown
Arellano University captured its first juniors lawn tennis title.

Arellano University downed last year's title-holder San Beda College, 2-1, Wednesday to sweep its way to its very first title in the 92nd NCAA juniors lawn tennis tournament at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

Aljohn Talatayod downed Eduardo Bagaforo, 6-0, 6-2, in the opening singles and Norman Gaspar sealed the deal with a 6-4, 6-1 triumph over Dawson Ormoc in the reverse singles to seal the crown.

San Beda actually took the doubles on a victory by Patrick Mendoza and Aldyll Ignacio over Jan Harold Trillanes and Lawrence Sombreo, 6-2, 6-2, to level the match and could clinch the second round pennant and force a one-game finale if it could take the reverse singles.

It was not to be though as Gaspar was just too much for Ormoc.

It was an impressive title conquest by the Braves as they won all their 12 matches--nine in the first round and three in the second--to rule the event for the first time since they joined the league five years ago.

The lawn tennis crown its Arellano U's third this season after it lorded over badminton and taekwondo in the first semester a few months ago.

"Its a proud accomplishment for a team that has worked hard for years to get this far," said Arellano U's Management Committee representative Peter Cayco.

The Cubs finished second.

Lyceum of the Philippines University defeated San Sebastian College on triumphs by Elvin Joseph Geluz over Vincent Anida, 6-0, 6-1, and Stepano Gurria over Joseph Gadon, 6-4, 7-5, to claim third place.

San Sebastian's lone win was provided for by Philip and Pete Coteron over Bruce Etcobanez and Jason Guillermo, 6-0, 6-4, in the doubles.

Latest News