CSB ends 13-year lawn tennis title drought

ABS-CBN Sports on Dec 15, 2016 03:03 PM
CSB ends 13-year lawn tennis title drought
College of St. Benilde copped its first senior lawn tennis crown since winning it all 13 years ago.

College St. Benilde pulled off a come-from-behind 2-1 victory over last year's winner San Beda College to complete a title sweep of the 92nd NCAA seniors lawn tennis tournament at the Rizal Tennis Center.

Trailing by a game after after Ranha Reyes lost to Vince Carlo Ramiscal, 6-3, 1-6, 6-3, in the opening singles, the Blazers struck back with wins by Mav Victoria and Carl Catedral in the doubles and Jet Asilo in the decisive reverse singles.

Victoria and Catedral blanked Erick Fernandez Whismark Basanal, 6-0, 6-0, to level the count at 1-1 before Asilo turned back Andre Tuason, 6-4, 6-2, to seal CSB's second title after topping this same event 13 years ago.

San Sebastian dumped Letran, 2-1, to clinch second place and relegate San Beda to third spot.

Francis Parangan edged Adjuthor Moralde, 7-6 (5), 7-6 (4), and then Ramzie Manongsong and John Paul Gulfo trounced Ivan Valenzuela and Hilbert San Jose, 6-2, 6-4, to seal the win for the Stags.

Letran's Carlo Nono trampled John Israel Sanga, 8-4, to avert a shutout.

The Knights wound up fourth.

Latest News