NU keeps UAAP girls volleyball title

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 18, 2015 08:05 PM
NU keeps UAAP girls volleyball title
National University completed a back-to-back championship run.

Faith Nisperos delivered in the deciding set as National University won its second consecutive girls crown by outlasting University of Santo Tomas, 25-23, 14-25, 23-25, 26-24, 15-8, on Saturday in the 78th UAAP high school volleyball tournament at the Adamson University gym.     

Nisperos, last season’s MVP, scored back-to-back aces to give the Junior Lady Bulldogs a 7-4 lead midway in the deciding set and never looked back to complete a two-game sweep of the best-of-three title series.     

The Junior Tigresses, who won the championship two seasons ago, failed to avenge their last year’s Finals loss.     

As a consolation for UST, Eya Laure was named the tournament MVP while her teammate Det Pepito took home the Best Receiver honors.     

NU had the most number of individual awardees with Rookie of the Year winner Thea Gagate, Best Blocker Sheena Toring and Best Setter Joyme Cagande.    

De La Salle-Zobel also won awards courtesy of Best Scorer Jules Samonte and Best Digger Bela Peralta.     

Meanwhile, the boys championship opener between NU and defending champion University of the East, will push through on Monday at 9:00 a.m.     

The Bullpups advanced to the Finals outright with a thrice-to-beat advantage after completing a double-round sweep of the eliminations.  

The second-ranked Junior Warriors, meanwhile, eliminated Far Eastern University-Diliman in the step-ladder semifinals.

Latest News