Ateneo’s Ravena becomes 10th back-to-back MVP

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Nov 19, 2015 10:07 AM
Ateneo’s Ravena becomes 10th back-to-back MVP
BLUE EAGLE KING. Kiefer Ravena joins Jun Reyes and Rich Alvarez as back-to-back MVPs hailing from Ateneo.

As reported by ABS-CBN Sports four days earlier, Kiefer Ravena is all set to accept another MVP award.

Official statistics at the end of the elimination round confirmed that the Ateneo de Manila University star ended with 69.50 Statistical Points (SPs) built on averages of 18.9 points, 4.9 assists, 6.1 rebounds, and 1.2 steals.

The Blue Eagles captain’s latest feat has only been accomplished nine times prior – the last time in 2011-2012 by now NBA D-League player Ray Parks Jr. The last Katipunan student-athlete to repeat as the league’s top player was Rich Alvarez back in 2000-2001.

Ravena will take home the award after finishing a whole two points ahead of runner-up Kevin Ferrer of University of Sto. Tomas with 67.34 SPs. The Growling Tiger normed 17.9 points, 8.2 rebounds, and 1.6 assists through the eliminations.

Rounding out the top five in the race are National University’s Alfred Aroga, UST’s Ed Daquioag, and De La Salle University’s Jeron Teng.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News