No Tamaraw joins two-time MVP Ravena in Mythical Five

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Nov 28, 2015 02:48 PM
No Tamaraw joins two-time MVP Ravena in Mythical Five
HISTORY MAKER. Kiefer Ravena became only the 10th back-to-back MVP in the UAAP's 78-year history.

While he was unable to close his career with a championship, Kiefer Ravena got the best of consolation prizes on Saturday at the Araneta Coliseum.

The Ateneo de Manila University star claimed his second straight Most Valuable Player award – officially etching his name alongside UAAP legends Allan Caidic, Jun Reyes, Jun Limpot, Dennis Espino, Mark Telan, Don Allado, Rich Alvarez, Arwind Santos, and Ray Parks Jr.

Talking about achieving a feat that has only been done nine times before, Ravena told ABS-CBN Sports, “Very thankful ako and I share this with everyone who helped me in my nine years in the UAAP.” The now back-to-back MVP boasts per game numbers of 18.9 points, 4.9 assists, 6.1 rebounds, and 1.2 steals.

Joining Ravena in the Mythical Team are University of Sto. Tomas’ Kevin Ferrer and Ed Daquioag, National University’s Alfred Aroga, and De La Salle University’s Jeron Teng.

Perhaps another testament to their fantastic depth, no Mythical selection comes from Far Eastern University which leads the best-of-three Finals series 1-0. Mac Belo, Mike Tolomia, Raymar Jose, and RR Pogoy all finished in the top 13 of the MVP race, but their numbers are somewhat mellowed down by the fact that no Tamaraw averaged more than 25 minutes throughout the eliminations.

Meanwhile, the Green Archers received a ray of hope to what has been a disappointing season with Andrei Caracut adjudged Rookie of the Year. Despite missing two games due to injury, the hotshot guard was still able to norm 9.2 points, 2.1 assists, and 2.8 rebounds to edge out Growling Tiger Marvin Lee for the award.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News