Bulldogs, Green Spikers joust for win no. 2

Mark Escarlote on Feb 06, 2016 06:36 PM
Bulldogs, Green Spikers joust for win no. 2
De La Salle and National University face off for a share of the lead.

Early winners De La Salle University and last year’s runner up National University cross paths Sunday to dispute a share of the lead in the 78th UAAP men’s volleyball tournament at The Arena in San Juan.

Game time is set at 10:00 a.m. that will air live over ABS-CBN Sports+Action HD Channel 166 and via livestream at sports.abs-cbn.com/livestream/uaap.      

The Green Spikers opened the season with a 25-18, 28-26, 26-24, victory over University of the East last Wednesday behind the explosive return of Raymark Woo.

Woo, who skipped last year’s contest because of a knee injury, scored 19 points and is expected to lead the Taft-based squad against the Bulldogs.

DLSU will also bank on John Onia, Ralph Calasin and Mike Frey to join the defending champion Ateneo Blue Eagles on top of the heap.

But it won’t be easy task for the Green Spikers.

NU is also coming off a quick disposal of Adamson University, 25-22, 25-22, 25-7, to open their campaign to regain the title the Bulldogs lost to Ateneo.

The Bulldogs will lean on their seasoned players Philip Saura, Ryan Bagunas, Madzlang Gampong and setter Vince Mangulabnan to score their second win of the tournament.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles      

Latest News