Lady Eagles stake unbeaten record in 'Battle of Katipunan'

Mark Escarlote on Feb 13, 2016 08:54 PM
Lady Eagles stake unbeaten record in 'Battle of Katipunan'
Alyssa Valdez leads Ateneo de Manila's mission to solidify its hold of the top spot.

Unbeaten two-time defending champion Ateneo de Manila marches into its third straight game, all in a week’s stretch, on Valentine’s Day Sunday against Katipunan neighbor University of the Philippines Lady Maroons in the 78th UAAP women’s volleyball tournament at The Arena in San Juan.

Game time is slated at 4:00 p.m. and will air live over ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23, ABS-CBN Sports+Action HD Channel 166 and via livestream at    

The Lady Eagles behind back-to-back Most Valuable Player Alyssa Valdez are in solo lead with a perfect 3-0 win-loss record but are in for a tough customer in the rookie-laden Lady Maroons.   

“Lahat ng schedule namin this week malalakas,” said Valdez, whose squad faced a gritty University of Sto. Tomas last Sunday after winning in straight sets in the series opener against National University. 

“Kailangan lang talaga nasa focus ka and kailangan eyes on the goal talaga. Ganoon lang pero as much as possible we are thinking one game at a time, one point at a time to set the goal. Kasi mahirap naman mag-isip ng malayo kung hindi ka mag-start dun sa una,” she added.

Valdez had 15 points with eight digs and six excellent receptions in the Lady Eagles’ 81-minute 25-22, 25-19, 25-15 demolition of Far Eastern University last Wednesday. The win extended Ateneo's winning run to 21 dating back to Season 76 Finals Game 3 win over De La Salle University.  

Aside from Valdez, UP also need to put in check sophomore Maddie Madayag, Jhoanna Maraguinot, Bea De Leon and Amy Ahomiro for a chance to get back on the winning track.

The Lady Maroons are coming off a 14-25, 13-25, 25-19, 20-25 loss at the hands of De La Salle University after opening their campaign with a straight-set win over University of the East.

Nicole Tiamzon, Kathy Bersola, Marian Buitre and prized rookies Isa Molde, Justine Dorog and Diana Carlos will try to equal the firepower of Ateneo.





Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles            

Latest News