NU sweeps UAAP men's and women's tennis titles

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 27, 2016 06:51 PM
NU sweeps UAAP men's and women's tennis titles
The NU Lady Bulldogs captured their third straight UAAP women's tennis title.

For the third straight season, powerhouse National University grabbed the double championship Saturday in the UAAP Season 78 lawn tennis tournament at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

The Bulldogs went undefeated for the fourth straight season, capping another dominating campaign in the men's division with a 3-0 thumping of University of the Philippines.

The Lady Bulldogs were equally impressive as they completed a three-peat with a 3-0 blanking of University of Santo Tomas.

Winning 44 straight men's ties, NU's streak is currently the second longest in the league behind Adamson University softball's remarkable 72-game winning run.

The Lady Bulldogs, meanwhile, went undefeated in nine ties this season.

In his swan song for NU, Leander Lazaro was named the season MVP, his second since winning the league's highest individual award in 2013. His teammate Fritz Verdad won consecutive MVPs in 2014 and 2015.

Also winning the MVP is  Christine Patrimonio, who also took the honors two years ago. Her sister Clarice Patrimonio was last season's MVP.

Mark Clarence Cabahug of the Growling Tigers was named the men's Rookie of the Year. Jana Pages of Ateneo was the top rookie in the distaff side.

Latest News