La Salle Baseball ends Finals losing streak versus Ateneo, wins Game 1

Anton Roxas on Mar 12, 2016 09:45 AM
DLSU Baseball takes Finals Game 1 versus Ateneo
(Photo: Arvin Lim/ABS-CBN Sports)

For the third straight season, De La Salle University and Ateneo De Manila University are playing each other in a championship series for the biggest prize in Collegiate Baseball in the country.

On Friday, March 11, 2016, the Green Archers finally outplayed the Blue Eagles by winning, 8-3 in Game 1 of the UAAP Season 78 Baseball Finals at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium. It was La Salle’s first win the Finals against Ateneo, who swept them twice in their best-of-three championship series in the past two seasons.

The game got off to a defensive start with both teams preventing each other for scoring runs in the first three innings. But, at the top of the fourth, disaster struck for the Blue Eagles as starting pitcher Paolo Macasaet gave up four straight walks and an errant pitch that allowed Cholo Dominguez to put the Green Archers on the board. What followed was a booming 3 RBI triple by Franco Hashimoto and a 1 RBI single by Paolo Salud.

In an effort to change the complexion of the game, Ateneo replaced Macasaet with Miguel Dumlao at the start of the fifth inning. However, La Salle still managed to stay aggressive as they scored runs via a sacrifice fly in the fifth and seventh inning.

The two-time defending champions kept things interesting with a solo home run by Gino Tantuico in the fourth inning and a 2 RBI single by Fil-Japanese Kai Furosawa at the bottom of the fifth.

La Salle also made a switch on the pitcher’s mound as rookie Diego Lozano took over from Boo Barandiaran midway through the fifth inning. Lozano was impressive in his Finals debut, as he registered a total of six strikeouts.

Dominguez put the icing on the cake for the Green Archers in the ninth inning with a 1 RBI double, sending Team Captain Carlos Muňoz to the home plate all the way from second base.

Game 2 will take place on Monday, March 14, 2016 at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium at 12:00 noon. La Salle is looking for its first championship since 2003 (UAAP Season 65). Ateneo will try to extend the series to a deciding Game 3 to extend their current three-year title reign. 

Latest News