La Salle captures first UAAP baseball crown in 13 years

Anton Roxas on Mar 15, 2016 08:58 AM
La Salle captures first UAAP baseball crown in 13 years
The Green Batters trailed 3-8 before rallying to come up with an 11-9 victory in Game 2 of the UAAP Season 78 Baseball Finals.

It’s been a long time coming.

Thirteen years have passed since the last time De La Salle University won the biggest prize in Collegiate Baseball. Finally, the drought has ended.

The Green Archers repelled Ateneo de Manila University, winning 11-9 in Game 2 of the UAAP Season 78 Baseball tournament on Monday, March 14, 2016 at the historic Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila. With the victory, La Salle recaptured the championship they last won in 2003.

After scoring three early runs, the Blue Eagles came to life and unleashed six runs in the fourth inning. The three-time defending champions pushed the lead further and led, 8-3 heading into the bottom of the sixth. That’s when La Salle began their comeback as Franco Hashimoto connected on a 2 RBI single to trim the deficit to three.

Marco Mallari would respond with an RBI at the top of the seventh but that would be the last run of the season for the Blue Eagles.

In the bottom half of the same inning, La Salle duplicated Ateneo’s six-run blast capped off by a 2 RBI single from Paolo Salud. Boo Barandiaran would go on to tally three of his seven strikeouts in the last two innings as the Green Archers denied their rivals an opportunity to score.

Barandiaran and rookie Diego Lozano were awarded as Co-MVP’s of the Finals. Both pitchers finished the Finals with a combined 17 strikeouts.

Prior to the game, the following awards were given out to the following student-athletes for their performances during the elimination round:

Best Hitter: Paulo Gonzalo Salud (DLSU)

Best Slugger: Jose Miguel San Juan (UP)

Most Runs Batted-In (12): Jonathan Park (DLSU)
                   Jerome Yenson (AdU)
                   Julius Diaz (UST)

Most Home-runs (1): Marco Luis Mallari (ADMU)
            Jose Maria Tantuico (ADMU)
            Ariel Aligno (UST)
            Kirk Daquis (UST)
            Mark Steven Manaig (AdU)

Most Stolen Bases (8): Marquis Rey Alindogan (ADMU)

Best Pitcher: Juan Paulo Macasaet (ADMU)

Rookie of the Year: Julius Diaz (UST)

Season MVP: Julius Diaz (UST)


Latest News