Roa delivers walk-off hit as UST beats AdU to force Game 3

Anton Roxas on Mar 14, 2016 10:45 PM
Roa delivers walk-off hit as UST beats AdU to force Game 3
The UST Tigresses take down the Adamson Lady Falcons to force a deciding third game in the UAAP Season 78 Softball Finals

Once again, the University of Sto. Tomas accomplished what no other team has been able to do in the past six years.

In a dramatic ending, the Tigresses staved off elimination by bringing down the five-time defending champion Adamson University in Game 2 of the UAAP Season 78 Softball Finals on Monday, March 14, 2016 at the historic Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila.

Both teams started off defensively, preventing each other from scoring in the first three innings. But, at the bottom of the fourth, UST finally got on the board via a 2 RBI Single from Mallows Garde, who started the game as the pitcher.

In the fifth inning, the Tigresses added three more runs courtesy of RBI’s by KJ Lacupa, Celestine Palma and CJ Roa to build a 5-0 lead.

Queeny Sabobo finally got the Lady Falcons on the board after a standing home run at the top of the sixth. Another home run would come in the succeeding inning as Gelyn Lamata hit a deep fly ball over the fence towards left field. Lamata’s home run amounted to three runs, allowing Adamson to tie the game up at 5-all.

Owning the home plate advantage, UST pounced on the opportunity to stun the Lady Falcons as Roa delivered the winning hit.

Before the game, the top individual performers of the tournament were recognized as Roa received the award for Best Hitter. Lacupa also represented UST at the awarding ceremony, taking home the trophy for Most Stolen Bases (4).

For Adamson, Pong Benjamen received the award for Best Pitcher while Sabobo and Lamata both took home trophies for Most Home runs with 2 apiece. Sabobo also received the award for Most runs batted-in (15) as well as recognition for being the new MVP of the tournament.

Aime Watson was hailed as the Rookie of the Year.

Because of Adamson’s defeat, there will be a deciding Game 3 happening on Friday, March 18, 2016 back at the Rizal Memorial Stadium. That game is scheduled to begin at 8:30 in the morning.

Latest News