Lady Spikers complete 3-year journey with title no. 9

Paul Lintag on Apr 30, 2016 06:01 PM
Lady Spikers complete 3-year journey with title no. 9
The DLSU Lady Spikers finally ended a three-year UAAP title drought with championship number 9.

De La Salle University's three-year title drought is over.

After a shocking end to their Season 76 and being overmatched for the first time in forever last year in Season 77, the De La Salle University Lady Spikers finally got their elusive championship revenge against bitter rival Ateneo.

The Lady Spikers took the title away from the Lady Eagles with a 19-25, 25-21, 25-16, 25-16 victory in game 3 of the UAAP Season 78 Women's Volleyball Finals in front of 22,848 spectators inside the Araneta Coliseum Saturday.

Never the losers of back-to-back games this year, the Lady Spikers once again displayed their affinity to bounce back by stifling the now former two-time champion Lady Eagles on their way to a ninth championship in the UAAP.

The girls from Taft also won a five-year championship saga against Ateneo, 3-2.

Kim Dy led La Salle with 17 points highlighted by 16 attacks in the deciding victory.

Three-time MVP Alyssa Valdez meanwhile led Ateneo with 31 points.

"Sabi ko sa kanila hindi naman natatapos doon [game 2 loss]," head coach Ramil De Jesus said. "Pinaka-importante naka-una kami noong game 1."

"Sabi ko sa kanila sobrang aga pa para mag-enjoy, first set hindi pa doon nakikita kung nag-champion ka o hindi," he added referring to his team's slow start.

After scoring 34 points in game 2, Valdez was all business to start game 3, leading Ateneo to a 10-1 run to that completely shackled the Lady Spikers.

However, La Salle turned to their superior offensive repertoire to weather the Valdez storm and tie things up at one apiece in the second set, 25-21.

By the third set, signs of fatigue were already showing on the three-time Most Valuable Player as the Lady Spikers took control of the match, 25-16.

Taft Tower was in full effect in set 4 with La Salle sendig almost every Ateneo attack back to sender.

The Lady Spikers took multiple double-digit leads before Dy finally sealed Taft's 9th championship with a kill.

For her brilliant effort in the decider and the series, Dy was named Finals MVP.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8


Latest News