By the Numbers: La Salle is the best team, period

ABS-CBN Sports on May 02, 2016 12:42 PM
By the Numbers: La Salle is the best team, period
The DLSU Lady Spikers, best team in the UAAP.

During the first By the Numbers for the UAAP Season 78 women's volleyball tournament, we argued that the De La Salle Lady Spikers were the best team early in the season.

Now that the epic tournament is over capped by an amazing game 3 at the Araneta Coliseum last Saturday, it's official.

The De La Salle Lady Spikers are the best team in the land.

After two years of silver, gold is back in Taft Avenue after the Lady Spikers conquered the Ateneo Lady Eagles with a four-set win in game 3.

La Salle also won a five-year championship saga against Ateneo, 3-2.

With a season full of drama and exciting moments, we now breakdown for the last time, the epic game that crowned the girls in green.


Number of championships by the De La Salle Lady Spikers in the UAAP, all under head coach Ramil De Jesus.

Since missing the Final Four in Season 70, the Lady Spikers have made it to the finals for eight straight years, winning five championships including Season 78.

La Salle is also one of two teams to score a three-peat in the Final Four era and the Lady Spikers have done that twice in Seasons 66-68 and Seasons 73-75.


La Salle's all-time rank in terms of women's volleyball championships.

By beating the Lady Eagles, the Lady Spikers broke their tie with the University of the Philippines and won a ninth UAAP title.

The only schools that are more decorated than La Salle in this sport? FEU (29 championships) and UST (15 championships).

22, 848

Fans that went to the Big Dome to watch the epic game 3 between La Salle and Ateneo.

Not only was that the highest crowd attendance for the series, it's also the new record for UAAP Volleyball.


Number of blocks recorded by the Lady Spikers in game 3.

It was the most telling stat back in game 1 and it was the most effective strategy in game 3.

Taft Towers Majoy Baron (5) and Mika Reyes (3) actually outblocked the entire Ateneo team, 8-6.


Number of times Kim Dy led La Salle in scoring in the UAAP Season 78 Finals.

The third-year hitter saved her best game for last, scoring 17 points in the clincher after scoring 16 in game 2 and 15 in game 1.

Yes, she deserved the Finals MVP award.


Number of points scored by three-time MVP, Queen Eagle and #GOAT Alyssa Valdez in her final UAAP game.

Valdez tried to carry her team to another championship but sadly, she'll only graduate as a two-time champion. She is however, a champion in our hearts.

Alyssa also dropped 34 points in their game 2 win and much like LeBron James in the 2015 NBA Finals, Valdez worked overtime, averaging 75.5 attempts in her last two games.

Latest News