Paolo Bugas, Jarvey Gayoso lead UAAP Men’s Football individual awardees

Santino Honasan on May 04, 2016 05:10 PM
Bugas, Gayoso lead UAAP Men’s Football individual awardees
FEU's Paolo Bugas and Ateneo's Jarvey Gayoso headline the UAAP Season 78 Men's Football Individual Awardees

FEU star and former MVP Paolo Bugas, as well as Ateneo rookie sensation Jarvey Gayoso were among the UAAP Season 78 Men’s Football Individual Awardees, announced Wednesday afternoon.

Bugas, who led the Tamaraws to back-to-back titles in Season 76 and Season 77, earned the Best Midfielder nod for Season 78. And while the Tamaraws were booted out of the Final Four this season, they were still one of the toughest teams to take on, and Bugas was instrumental in their success this year.

Gayoso, Ateneo’s newfound star striker, was also the league’s Best Striker, finishing the eliminations with 11 made conversions, tied with NU striker Paolo Salenga. Gayoso helped lead the Blue Eagles to a Finals berth, their first since Season 75, where they went on to win the title.

Bugas’ Tamaraws teammate Chy Villasenor got the nod for the season’s Best Defender, while De La Salle keeper Paeng De Guzman will be taking home the season’s Best Goalkeeper.

The Rookie of the Year award will also go to a player from Taft, with Jed Diamante getting the citation.

The season’s Mythical XI includes an interesting mix of vets and rookies such as individual awardees Bugas, Villasenor, and Diamante, as well as graduating NU star Paolo Salenga, UP vet Patxi Santos, and Ateneo rookie Mashu Yoshioka.

Check out the full list of awardees below:


*NOTE: The awardees are determined and announced by the match committee. 

Latest News