UP Lady Maroons bring Women's Football crown to Diliman for the first time ever

Santino Honasan on May 05, 2016 07:20 PM
Lady Maroons win first ever UAAP Women's Football crown
FOR THE FIRST TIME. The UP Lady Maroons are UAAP Women's Football Champions

An insane reverse header from Angeliza Sta. Clara midway through the second half spelled the difference, as the University of the Philippines Lady Fighting Maroons brought their first UAAP Women's Football title back home to Diliman after dispatching the De La Salle Lady Archers, 2-1, Thursday afternoon at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Favorites heading into the finals after going unbeaten in the eliminations, DLSU saw their perfect record put at risk early in the second half, after a foul inside the box rewarded the Lady Maroons with a penalty kick, which Cristina delos Reyes calmly converted in the 50th minute. 

Just eleven minutes later, DLSU's Rookie of the Year Sara Castañeda knotted things up with a penalty conversion of her own. 

It was in the 67th minute that Sta. Clara recieved a perfectly-timed assist and used the back of her head to blast the ball through DLSU keeper Inna Palacios. 

With a heartbreak reminiscent to that of the Green Archers football team last season, the Lady Archers tried all they could to force extra time, but the Lady Maroon defense allowed no equalizers, as the Diliman squad held on for the historic win. 

"I can't believe it. We're champions!" Season MVP and frontline defender Monica Manalansan told ABS-CBN Sports. "I would like to acknowledge my teammates, because this was a collective effort. Without them, none of this would be possible."

Latest News