Four teams make debut in UAAP Season 79 women’s basketball

ABS-CBN Sports on Sep 03, 2016 03:33 PM
Four teams make debut in UAAP Season 79 women’s basketball
Last season's runner-up Ateneo tangles with UST in the second game of opening day of the UAAP Season 79 women's basketball tournament.
Games on Sunday

(Araneta Coliseum):

8 a.m. – UP vs AdU (Women's)

10 a.m. – UST vs Ateneo (Women's)


Last year’s runner-up Ateneo de Manila University plays University of Santo Tomas, while Adamson University takes on the University of the Philippines as hostilities in the UAAP Season 79 women’s basketball tournament begin on Sunday at the  Araneta Coliseum.

John Flores, who steered the Lady Eagles to 2005 and 2007 championship, returns as the Katipunan-based team collides with the Tigresses at 10 a.m., right after the Lady Falcons clash with the Lady Maroons at 8 a.m.

Flores takes over from Erika Dy, who is now one of the school’s representatives to the UAAP Board. Dy steered Ateneo to a second place finish behind National University last season.

Haydee Ong, a former national team coach, will also make her debut for UST, which missed the Final Four last season.

The Lady Falcons will also parade a new coach in Mike Fermin, who replaced long-time mentor Emilia Vega after the San Marcelino-based squad missed the semifinals last season.

The Lady Bulldogs, undefeated in 32 matches since 2014, will make their debut on Wednesday against University of the East at 8 a.m. at the Mall of Asia Arena.  On the same day, De La Salle University battles Far Eastern University at 10 a.m.

Latest News