Racela says Dennison a ‘marked man’ by referees

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Sep 25, 2016 06:34 PM
Racela says Dennison a ‘marked man’ by referees
EYES ON YOU. Nash Racela urged the Commissioner's Office to look into calls made against Ron Dennison.

Defending champion Far Eastern University turned back upset-conscious University of the Philippines for their first winning streak in the UAAP 79 Men’s Basketball Tournament.

But not before some close calls – especially in the final frame.

At the 2:48 mark of the final frame, referees called a disqualifying foul on Tamaraw starter Ron Dennison – causing an automatic ejection. Replays showed, however, that he did not do anything to UP’s Paul Desiderio who fell to the floor while seemingly writhing in pain.



Desiderio’s split from the stripe followed by Jett Manuel’s long two tied the tally at 47.

Prince Orizu and Monbert Arong towed the defense and offense, respectively, and FEU eventually pulled off a two-point decision, but it shouldn’t have even come to that – if Dennison is to be believed. “Wala akong intensyon. Alam ni Desiderio na nasasaktan siya kaya willing siya mag-flop,” he said.

The 22-year-old then went on to say that the questionable call was, more or less, due to his reputation. “Mainit din yung mga referee sa akin. Kasi may background na sila sa akin na tirador,” he claimed.

Indeed, Tamaraws’ mentor Nash Racela even went as far as to say that his graduating guard is actually the apple of the eye of game officials. As he put it, “I think that’s something that the commissioner had to review. I know Dennison has been a marked man, but he’s been playing really, really clean this year.”

He then continued, “I mean, if they will call that touch foul on Dennison tapos sila (DLSU’s Ben) Mbala kung manulak, ina-allow nila, dapat si Mbala 20 fouls na every game. So mali, I think those were really questionable calls today.”

Another FEU player who felt that there was a questionable call against him was Nigerian Prince Orizu. “I was sad because I looked at the play and it’s not a foul or unsportsmanlike foul. That was a flop too,” he expressed.

The second-year center was referring to an instance in the third quarter where he collared a rebound and, when shifting positions, seemed to hit Fighting Maroon Dave Moralde who then fell to the floor. Upon review, however, the former’s arm only lightly grazed the latter’s face.

Explaining himself further, Orizu said, “That was really a flop. If I gave him an elbow, he’ll probably be in the hospital right now.”


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News