Bulldogs, Lady Maroons complete 3-peat in badminton

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 15, 2016 02:20 PM
Bulldogs, Lady Maroons complete 3-peat in badminton
University of the Philippines accomplished a three-peat in the women's division, subduing Ateneo in the Finals decider, 3-1.

National University fashioned out a masterful 3-0 win over Ateneo de Manila University in Game 2 on Saturday to claim the men's title of the UAAP Season 79 badminton tournament.

The Bulldogs swept the best-of-three series, 2-0, for a three-peat and the fourth championship overall in the last five season.

Thanks to the superb performance all tournament long by MVP Leeward Pedrosa, NU stretched its remarkable winning run to 27 ties dating back from 2014.

University of the Philippines likewise accomplished a three-peat in the women's division, subduing Ateneo in the Finals decider, 3-1.     

Bouncing back big from a series-opening loss that ended a 25-tie winning streak, the Lady Maroons won, 2-1.      

The Lady Eagles actually drew first blood with Bianca Carlos defeating Bea Bernardo, 21-16, 21-18, in a battle of former league MVPs in the first singles.      

But that was the best Ateneo could offer, as UP won the second singles and swept the two doubles matches to prevail.           

Gelita Castilo bested Cassy Ramos, 21-13, 24-22, Poca Alcala and Jessie Francisco turned back Ramos and Trixie Malibiran, 21-15, 21-17, while Castilo and Lea Inlayo rallied from a first set defeat to prevail over Geva de Vera and Carlos, 21-23, 21-12, 21-12.

Pedrosa defeated rookie Keoni Asuncion, 21-13, 21-10, in the second singles for the Bulldogs.

Keeyan Gabuelo downed Carlo Remo, 21-18, 21-17, in the opening singles, and the doubles pair of Mike Minuluan and Alem Palmares put an icing on NU's dominance with a 21-17, 21-19 win over Hanz Bernardo and Jan Mangubat.

As a consolation for the Blue Eagles, second placers for the third consecutive year,  Asuncion was named the Rookie of the Year.

Ateneo was hoping to reprise its scintillating step-ladder run where it beat University of Santo Tomas, De La Salle and twice-to-beat University of the Philippines to advance in the title round. But the Bulldogs were simply too much.

Latest News