UST coach lambasts officiating in their matchup with DLSU

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 23, 2016 08:53 PM
UST coach lambasts officiating in their matchup with DLSU
NO FAIR? Coach Boy Sablan questioned game officials who oversaw DLSU's 43-point shellacking of UST.

Right after he and University of Sto. Tomas were at the wrong end of a 43-point shellacking, coach Boy Sablan gave a tongue-lashing to those who made it happen.

No, not the Growling Tigers – the game officials who, as he was trying to make a point, were the biggest part of De La Salle University’s win.

As Sablan put it, “Ako, I’ve been good to officiating and wala akong mine-mention sa kanila na biased sila or what. Pero this time, ang gusto ko lang sabihin, alam natin yung galaw nila, ng mga referee na yan.”

Pressed further, he continued, “Ang tagal ko sa UAAP, kilala ko silang lahat, kilala ko yang galawan nila rito. Eighth year ko ngayon, alam ko lahat kaya ‘di nila ako pwedeng i-technical nang ganun-ganun lang. Gusto nila akong patahimikin e mali na sila?”

The first-year mentor went on to mention how their strong start of 10-5 was stopped by officiating. “Napigil kami sa mga tawag noong first quarter, pero tignan niyo nung huli, tawag nang tawag nung fourth quarter. Kaunting dikit, tumatawag, wala na e,” he said.

He then continued, “Pero nung first quarter, nung lamang pa kami, ayaw tumawag.”

After the final buzzer sounded, the UST had totaled 23 fouls while the Green Archers had 28. Also, the former were awarded 24 free throws while the latter were given 29 attempts from the stripe.

Sablan then singled out one play as representative of the referees’ many missed calls. In fact, so displeased was he that he incurred a technical foul.

In the second quarter, DLSU’s Ricci Rivero was trying to finish a fastbreak, but was met by Jon Sheriff. Rivero then pulled off a hop-step wherein he seemed to drag his feet before making good on the basket.

 

 

Game officials counted the score and whistled no violation. That wasn’t what the Tigers’ coach saw, however, as he said, “Tumalon na e tapos hindi pa binitawan yung bola. Nag-hop step lang daw, okay daw yun.”

He then continued, “Kung nag-hop step ka, bitawan mo yung bola. E nag-landing na, guys, maliwanag na maliwanag, nag-landing, wala nang gagawin.”

Making sure referees knew very well he was still displeased, Sablan talked with referees at halftime. It was then that the referees told him, as was heard on broadcast, “Wala kaming pinapaburan dito.”

Reacting to their statement post-game, however, the UST mentor expressed, “Kung sinasabi sa akin ng mga referee, wala kaming pinapaburan dito, sila may sabi nyan ha. Oo, wala kayong pinapaburan, pero mali-mali ang tawag niyo.”

He also added, essentially telling reporters that he’s prepared for whatever the aftermath of his statement will be, “I’m sorry sa mga referee. Kahit isulat niyo yan.”

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News