UST rules men's taekwondo anew, NU women capture first title

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 26, 2016 05:30 PM
UST rules men's taekwondo anew, NU women capture first title
UST completed a three-peat in UAAP men's taekwondo while NU took the throne in the women's division at the Blue Eagle Gym.
The University of of Santo Tomas proved that it is still a force to reckon with in the UAAP taekwondo tournament after winning its third consecutive men's crown Tuesday night at the Blue Eagle Gym.

Not to be outdone is National University, which captured its first-ever women's title after a six-match elimination round sweep.

The Growling Tigers defeated University of the East, 4-3, and University of the Philippines, 6-1, in the final day to finish their season at 5-1.

The Bulldogs also ended up with five wins in six bouts after posting a 4-3 win over La Salle and a 7-0 rout of Ateneo.

But NU failed to complete a championship double, as the Bustillos-based jins lost to UST earlier in the eliminations which relegated them to second place.

It was the Tigers' league-best 14th men's crown overall, thanks to the superb performance of middle-heavyweight Aries Capispisan, who was named the season MVP.

"Sobrang blessed and overwhelmed kasi nag-paid off yung hardwork namin," said the 20-year old Capispisan. "Sobrang ganda ng mga challenges na ibinibigay ng mga teams. Pantay-pantay na ang UAAP, so every year we have to push further."

Far Eastern University finished third with a 4-2 card.  The Tamaraws bested the Blue Eagles and the Fighting Maroons via identical 4-3 scores to achieve a podium finish.

The Lady Bulldogs carved out a perfect season behind lightweight Shiryl Badol, who was adjudged as the tournament MVP.

NU dismantled UP, 5-2, and La Salle, 6-1, in the final day for an impressive 6-0 slate.

The Tigresses emerged as the runner-up for third straight season after winding up at 4-2 via 6-1 win over deposed champion Lady Warriors and a 4-3 victory over the Lady Archers.

With Rookie of the Year Pauline Lopez leading the charge, Ateneo achieved its first-ever podium finish by ending up in third place. The Lady Eagles were actually tied with the Lady Maroons at 3-3, but the Katipunan-based squad bagged the trophy by virtue of winner-over-the-other rule.

La Salle's finweight Carlo Dionisio took the men's Rookie of the Year honors while the other gold medalists were Ateneo's Aaron Agojo (flyweight), NU's Diether Baylon (bantamweight), FEU's Kristian Tagarao (featherweight), UP's Karlos Gaerlan (lightweight) and NU's Arven Alcantara (welterweight).

In the women's division, UE's Karen Cells (finweight), NU's Grace Garfin (flyweight), Ateneo's Jennevive de Asis (bantamweight), NU's Rhezie Aragon (featherweight), FEU's Clouie Bolinas (welterweight) and La Salle's Gab Yuchingtat (middle-heavyweight) also won golds.

In the juniors division, UE ruled for the fourth straight year.

Latest News