UAAP CDC history within grasp of NU Pep Squad

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Nov 19, 2016 10:25 AM
UAAP CDC history within grasp of NU Pep Squad
TOP DOGS. NU will go all out in their attempt to become only the second squad to win four consecutive championships.

Only University of Sto. Tomas has ever won four consecutive championships in the UAAP Cheerdance Competition.

That’s not fazing National University, however, as it tries to extend its reign beyond the event’s 2016 iteration on Saturday at the Araneta Coliseum.

The NU Pep Squad defend their title while at the same time driving for a historic four-peat starting at 2:00 PM. One of the most anticipated events in the UAAP calendar will be broadcast LIVE on ABS-CBN S+A as well as streamed LIVE on

The Sampaloc-based squad topped last year’s competition with a total score of 668 – 16.5 better than the runner-up.

Still, that runner-up, the UST Salinggawi Dance Troupe is more motivated than ever to separate itself once more as the event’s winningest squad.

Last year’s third-placers, the University of the Philippines Pep Squad will not be participating and forgotten powerhouse Far Eastern University Cheering Squad is only willing to make the most of that opening.

With the field more wide open than usual, however, the other four member-schools may very well pull off a shocker. In particular, the De La Salle University Animo Squad are out to set the standard as the first performers.

They will be followed by the Salinggawi, Ateneo de Manila University’s Blue Babble Battalion, the Cheering Squad, the Adamson University Pep Squad, and the University of the East Pep Squad.

Bringing up the rear, and believing to be saving the best for last, are the three-time champions.

Latest News