UST forces title deciders in high school volleyball

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 28, 2016 12:14 PM
UST forces title deciders in high school volleyball
University of Sto. Tomas forced a couple of winner-take-all matches in the 79th UAAP high school volleyball Finals against National University.

Games Wednesday:

(Adamson Gym)

10:00 a.m. – NU vs UST (Girls Finals)

1:00 p.m. – NU vs UST (Boys Finals)


University of Sto. Tomas dragged National University in a couple of do-or-die matches after winning Game 2 of the girls and boys UAAP Season 79 high school volleyball Finals series at the Adamson University gym last Sunday.     

The Junior Tigresses dealt the Junior Lady Bullpups their first loss of the season with a 25-16, 25-21, 21-25, 25-13 victory that ended three-peat seeking NU's 13 game winning streak in the girl’s division.    

UST also tied the boys title series at 1-1, as the Tiger Cubs weathered the Bullpups’ repeated rallies in the fifth set to eke out a 25-22, 11-25, 21-25, 25-15, 15-13 victory.

Both Game 3 of the Finals are scheduled Wednesday at the same San Marcelino venue.     

Eya Laure took charge in the fourth set to steer UST to the series-tying win, keeping its hopes alive of regaining the crown it won in 2013.     

The Tiger Cubs showed composure in the fifth set to frustrate the Bullpups, who rallied from 3-8 and 10-13 deficits before falling.    

NU's Faith Nisperos bagged the season MVP and 1st Best Outside Spiker plum, while her teammates Thea Gagate (1st Best Middle Blocker), Joyme Cagande (Best Setter) and Nicole Magsarile (Best Server) also won awards.     

Other individual awardees in the girls’ division were UST's Laure (Best Opposite Spiker), Baby Love Barbon (2nd Best Outside Spiker) and Det Pepito (Best Libero), De La Salle-Zobel's Jewel Encarnacion (2nd Best Middle Blocker) and University of the East's Kathleen Layugan (Rookie of the Year).      

NU's Lorence Cruz was named the boys MVP and 1st Best Outside Spiker while his teammates Billie Jean Anima (1st Best Middle Blocker), Diogenes Poquita (Best Setter) and Menard Guerrero (Best Libero) also emerged as awardees.

Other boys’ winners were UST's Jaron Requinton (2nd Best Middle Blocker), Lorenz Señoron (Best Opposite Spiker) and Rey De Vega (Best Server), UE's Shaun Ledesma (2nd Best Outside Spiker) and De La Salle-Zobel's Raymond Bryce de Guzman (Rookie of the Year).


Latest News