UAAP By the Numbers: A beautiful dream

ABS-CBN Sports on Dec 05, 2016 04:39 PM
UAAP By the Numbers: A beautiful dream
With the Green Archers closing in on their ninth UAAP title, we try our best to breakdown the crazyness that was Game 1. Enjoy.

The La Salle-Ateneo dream match is living up to hype as both heated rivals provided an instant classic in Game 1 of the UAAP Season 79 Finals.

It had it all, from La Salle's furious start to Ateneo's spirited comeback. Game 1 featured a wild ending filled with clutch baskets, clutch blocks (or was it a foul) and even a good old sideline skirmish involving a former Vice Governor. Seriously it was wild, it was fun, it was La Salle vs. Ateneo.

Did you expect anything else?

With the Green Archers closing in on their ninth UAAP title, we try our best to breakdown the crazyness that was Game 1. Enjoy


Number of straight games won by Ateneo in the UAAP Finals before losing to La Salle in Game 1 Saturday. The last time the Blue Eagles lost in the championship round was back in Game 2 of the 2009 Finals at the hands of Paul Lee and the UE Red Warriors.

Actually that was the only blemish in Ateneo's epic 5-year run as Katipunan swept FEU (twice), UST, and La Salle.


Speaking of La Salle, 2008 was the last time both rivals met in the UAAP Finals. Entering as defending champions, the Green Archers got whipped by their rival Blue Eagles.

That title win also started Ateneo's UAAP dynasty, winning five championships in a row.


Number of straight wins by La Salle in the UAAP Finals. We practice fairness here, so it's only right to highlight La Salle's own mini streak.

The Green Archers last tasted defeat in the title round in Game 1 of the 2013 Finals to UST. Taft won the next two to win that series.


Number of Finals appearances by La Salle in the UAAP Final Four era (including this year), the most by any team.

Since the 1993-1994 season, the Green Archers have made the Finals an incredible 15 times, winning six championships in the process.

La Salle was there during UST's four-peat before winning a four peat of their own. The Green Archers were also there when FEU started a dynasty powered by Arwind Santos in the early 2000s. Really, the Taft basketball program is legit.


Number of UAAP championships won by both Ateneo and La Salle in the Final Four era, the most in the league.

The winner of UAAP Season 79 gets to hold the title of the winningest team since the UAAP adopted its current format.

The winner also gets to move to solo third in the all-time list win nine titles behind the Tamaraws (20), the Tigers (18), and the Warriors (18)

FEU and UST have won five championships each since the 1993-1994 season.


Number of "freshmen" that led La Salle in scoring in Game 1.

Newly-crowned MVP Ben Mbala once again did the heavy lifting for La Salle, dropping 20 points and 15 rebounds in his UAAP Finals debut.

Also leading the Green Archers was newly-awarded Rookie of the Year Aljun Melecio as the spitfire point guard ended up with 12 points, six in the crucial fourth quarter, on a reserve role.


Number of lead changes in Game 1, all happening in the final minute.

The first lead change happened wit 34.6 seconds to go as Matt Nieto gave the Blue Eagles a 65-64 advantage. However, Jeron Teng was quick to answer for La Salle, taking the lead back, 66-65.


Number of Ateneo players to finish in double figures.

Aaron Black was the only Blue Eagles to crack the 10-point barrier, finishing with 12 points.

He had the chance to go for 14 but his go-ahead jumper was blocked by Jeron Teng in the last 10 seconds.

Latest News