A look back at the moments we Dared to Dream in UAAP Season 79

ABS-CBN Sports on Dec 23, 2016 01:42 PM
A look back at the moments we Dared to Dream in UAAP 79
All photos courtesy of J195 students in UP CMC.

At year’s end, we look back at the first semester sports that came and went, even as we look forward to the next events that commence in January 2017.

The action-filled, colorful saga of eight teams in search of the crown was filled with all the things that make the UAAP the must-watch league that it is: fierce rivalries, collegiate superstars, eye-catching half-time numbers, diehard fandoms, and school spirit.

Sports and lifestyle media covered the games every step of the way and so did campus media. In particular, a Sportswriting Class in the UP College of Mass Communication (Journalism 195 under sports columnist Tessa Jazmines) was challenged to “shoot the games” – capture choice moments and choose their best shots for a class photo contest.

JD Adeva, Faye Almazan, Verna Barrozo, Daniel Boone, Laine Bringuelo, LA Castro, Shernielyn Dela Cruz, Alyssa Divina, Klea Gonzales, Bella Javier, Keith Magcaling, Luisa Morales, Ara Nacario, Kulas Palmera, Angel Palpal-latoc, Raph Rayco, MK Reginio, Steph Roxas, CJ San Jose and Clarist Zablan participated in the contest.

The would-be sports journalists are all amateurs and saw the basketball scene with fresh eyes.

One for All by Jae Danielle Adeva

Hit or Miss by Laine Marie Bringuelo

Team above Everything by Laine Marie Bringuelo

Business as Usual by Leandro Anton Castro

The Last Battle by Shernielyn Dela Cruz

The Fall by Karmela Lea Gonzales

BEAST MO(ral)DE by Keith Jasper Magcaling

And the Winner is... by Keith Jasper Magcaling

Basket Bros by Tiara Nacario

Golden Wings by

Utak at Puso by Angel Jericka Palpal-latoc

Buggy Whip by Raphael Rayco

Face of Regret by Mark Kevin Reginio

Waiting Game by Stephanie Roxas

All the King's Men by Christian Joseph San Jose

Latest News