Cameroonian Mbala is slam dunk Collegiate Player of the Year

Cameroonian Mbala is slam dunk Collegiate Player of the Year
WHO ELSE? There isn't even any doubt that DLSU's Ben Mbala was the most dominant player last season.

Ben Mbala of De La Salle University will be named as the Smart Player of the Year during the Collegiate Basketball Awards to be held on Thursday at the Montgomery Place Social Hall in E. Rodriguez Ave., Quezon City.

The Cameroonian center received the highest honor given by the group of scribes covering the collegiate beat for leading the Green Archers to their ninth UAAP championship while also winning the league's Most Valuable Player award.

He is the fourth player to claim the award, joining DLSU teammate Jeron Teng, former Ateneo star and two-time winner Kiefer Ravena, and ex-Far Eastern University standout Mac Belo.

Mbala and Teng were among the major awardees in the event backed by Smart, Accel, Mighty Sports, MJM Productions, and Chooks to Go.

The Green Archers' standouts were joined by Mapua Institute of Technology's Allwell Oraeme, Arellano University's Jio Jalalon, and San Beda College's Javee Mocon in the Mighty Sports Mythical Five.

Aldin Ayo and Jamike Jarin were given due recognition by sharing the Coach of the Year honors. Ayo was the architect of DLSU's UAAP title run while Jarin steered the Red Lions to their ninth crown in 11 seasons.

Special awards were also handed out to Green Archer Kib Montalbo and San Beda's Davon Potts as the Pivotal Player of their respective leagues even as Red Lion Robert Bolick and Ateneo de Manila University's Isaac Go received the Impact Player plums.

University of the Philippines guard Paul Desiderio took the Chooks to Go Breakout Player, fellow Maroon Jett Manuel and Far Eastern University's Raymar Jose were heralded with the Super Senior citations while Adamson center Papi Sarr took the Mr. Efficiency award.

Latest News