Baby Tams complete 7-peat in UAAP jrs. football

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 05, 2017 05:28 PM
Baby Tams complete 7-peat in UAAP jrs. football
Far Eastern University - Diliman ruled the UAAP juniors competition for the seventh straight season.

Chester Gio Pabualan scored the marginal goal as Far Eastern University-Diliman nipped De La Salle-Zobel, 1-0, Saturday night to rule the UAAP Season 79 juniors football tournament at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Pabualan struck on the 29th minute as the Baby Tamaraws stretched their reign to seven years, as the Junior Archers squandered several chances to level which spelled their doom.

FEU-Diliman finished the season with six straight wins after dropping a 1-2 loss to De La Salle-Zobel in the opener.

Orlan Togores, who like Pabualan is a national under-16 standout, was named the season MVP, while Jermi Darapan took home the Rookie of the Year honors.

Other Baby Tamaraws awardees were Pabualan (Best Midfielder), Keith Absalon (Best Striker).  Eduard Acervida of the Junior Archers went home with the Best Defender honors.

De La Salle-Zobel, which achieved its best finish ever since the event started eight seasons ago, also claimed the Fair Play award.

Ateneo, a perennial runner-up, settled for third place, with Gavin Rosario winning the Best Goalkeeper award.

Selected in the Mythical XI were FEU-Diliman's Pabualan, Absalon and Pocholo Bugas, De La Salle-Zobel's Acervida, Elijah Liao, Jed Bode and Miguel Basmayor, University of Santo Tomas' Jiannecel Molina and Jonas del Rosario and Ateneo's Rosario.

In men's action, defending champion University of the Philippines and De La Salle battled to a scoreless standoff, while National University and University of the Philippines also shared points after a 2-2 draw.


Latest News