Ateneo outlasts UST to recapture UAAP baseball crown

ABS-CBN Sports on Mar 24, 2017 06:02 PM
Ateneo outlasts UST to recapture UAAP baseball crown
It was the fourth title in five years for Ateneo, which regained the crown after losing the crown to arch-rival La Salle last season.

Ateneo de Manila University made a triumphant return to the baseball throne in UAAP Season 79 action after outlasting the University of Santo Tomas, 14-12, in extra innings for their fourth title in the last five years in a marathon five hour, 25 minute showdown in the mound on Friday.

A two-RBI double by Gino Tantuico sent Marco Mallari and Javi Macasaet home for a 13-11 Ateneo lead in the 12th inning which turned out to be the winning moment.

The Blue Eagles overcame Growling Tigers pitcher Ron dela Cruz's splendid pitching to survive. Ateneo bounced back from last season's Finals loss to De La Salle University.

Ateneo's Paulo Macasaet was named Finals Most Valuable Player while Dan Laurel won the Rookie of the Year award.

Latest News