Baron bags 79th UAAP women's volleyball MVP award

Mark Escarlote on May 03, 2017 10:08 AM
Baron bags 79th UAAP women's volleyball MVP award
De La Salle University's Majoy Baron pocketed this year's Most Valuable Player award.

National University star Jaja Santiago dominated three categories but middle blocker Majoy Baron of defending champion De La Salle University bagged the most coveted individual award in the 79th UAAP women’s volleyball.

The fourth year Lady Spiker owned this season’s Most Valuable Player honor after a stellar performance that helped the Taft-based squad march back into the Finals despite the departure of some key players after their last year’s title run.      

Baron will formally claim her award on Saturday before Game 2 of the best-of-three Finals where DLSU leads archrival Ateneo, 1-0, in the series.  

The Tarlac native is the first DLSU player to win the recognition since Ara Galang and Aby Marano shared the season MVP plum in Season 75.  

Baron finished 10th in the scoring department, averaging 10.7 points during the elimination round. She’s the most efficient attacker of DLSU with a success rate of 38.03%, landing at third spot overall behind Santiago and Ateneo de Manila’s Michelle Morente.  

Baron relinquished her Best Blocker award to 6-foot-5 Santiago but still finished at second in the category with 0.74 blocks per game average.     

Santiago, meanwhile, claimed the Best Scorer, Best Spiker and Best Blocker awards after putting up monster numbers.    

She lorded it over in scoring with a total of 268 (19.14 points per game) coming off 195 spikes, 49 kill blocks and 24 service aces.

The Lady Bulldog bested her closest pursuer Far Eastern University’s Bernadeth Pons (211). University of Sto. Tomas’ EJ Laure had a total of 192 points, a marker ahead of teammate Cherry Rondina, followed by University of the Philippines Diana Carlos (190). Rounding up the top 10 in scoring were Ateneo de Manila’s Michelle Morente (172), Kim Dy of De La Salle (159) FEU’s Toni Basas (158), Shaya Adorador of University of the East (152) and Majoy Baron of DLSU (147). 

Santiago was the most efficient in attacks with a 42.58% success rate out of 458 attempts.

Behind her were Morente (41.53%), Baron (38.03%), Jho Maraguinot of Ateneo (36.71%), Dy (36.56%), Rondina (35.00%), Pons (34.75%), Laure (34.54%), Kat Tolentino of Ateneo (33.76%) and Carlos (32.85%).

Santiago’s towering presence in front of the net translated to an average of 0.89 kill blocks per set. She bested last year’s Best Blocker Baron and Season 76 category winner Ria Meneses of UST, who averaged 0.74 kill blocks per set and 0.56 kill blocks per set, respectively.

FEU’s Remy Palma (0.55), teammates Dy (0.46) and Aduke Ogunsanya (0.46), Ateneo’s Bea De Leon (0.45), UE’s Jasmine Alcayde (0.45), Kathy Bersola of UP (0.40) and Risa Sato of NU (0.35) round up the category’s top 10.

Graduating player Kim Fajardo of DLSU won her second straight recognition - third overall in her five-year collegiate career - as the league’s finest playmaker after topping the category with an average of 11.28 excellent sets per frame and the graduating Lady Spikers skipper was also the best scorer from the service line with an average of 0.76 aces per set.

Fajardo, who nailed seven aces Tuesday in the championship opener, outclassed Ateneo setter Jia Morado both in playmaking and on the service line.         

Morado averaged 11.04 excellent sets per frame behind Fajardo followed by UP’s Ayel Estranero (9.71), Jasmine Nabor of NU (9.00), Chumcee Caole of Adamson (6.84), UE’s Roselle Baliton (6.02), Angelica Cayuna of FEU (5.98), UST’s Alina Bicar (5.28) and Alex Cabanos (5.16) and Kyle Negrito of FEU (4.71).

Morado normed with 0.67 aces per set followed by UP sophomore Isa Molde (0.54), Morente (0.53), Estranero (0.48), Adorador (0.45), Santiago, Jorelle Singh of NU (0.42) and FEU’s Heather Guino-o (0.41).

Just like last year, liberos Dawn Macandili of DLSU and UE’s Kath Arado split the no. 1 spots in reception and digs, respectively.

Macandili won the Best Receiver award with 50.71% efficiency rating ahead of teammate Desiree Cheng (43.72%), Arado (41.96%), Pons (41.42%), Molde (35.71%), Gizelle Tan of Ateneo (33.78%), Adamson’s Jema Galanza (33.51%), Morente (30.93%), Gayle Valdez of NU (30.00%) and UP’s Justine Dorog (27.27%).

Arado grabbed this year’s Best Digger award after averaging of 6.60 per set to eclipse the 6.09 per frame of Macandili. Seated at third was FEU’s Ria Duremdes (4.75), followed by Tan (3.61), Laure (3.54), Galanza (3.48), Molde (3.35), Pons (3.27), Dorog (3.04) and Adamson’s Tonnie Rose Ponce (2.93).

Jules Samonte of Ateneo took the Rookie of the Year honors.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles


Latest News